2000 GUINEAS 1959

The 151st winner of the 2000 Guineas, held on Wednesday 29th April 1959 over the Rowley Mile, was Taboun (5/2 fav), a bay colt by Tabriz out of Queen of Basrah, owned by Prince Aly Khan. The winner won by 3 lengths in 1 minute 42.42 secs, with a neck back to the third. A field of 13 runners contested the race which was worth £15,341 (Equivalent to £329,800 in 2017)


Horse Jockey Trainer Owner/Betting
TABOUN George Moore Alec Head Prince Aly Khan 5/2
MASHAM Doug Smith Major Geoffrey Brooke Mr A R Ellis 9/2
CARNOUSTIE Lester Piggott Noel Murless Lt-Colonel Giles Loder 11/2
PINDARI Eph Smith Noel Murless HM The Queen
LINDRICK Scobie Breasley C Fawcus Mr A Dormer
HIEROPLYPH W H Carr Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Mrs J W Hanes
WELSH GUARD Willie Snaith Captain Cecil Boyd-Rochfort Mrs J W Hanes
PENA Joe Mercer Arthur Budgett Mr J Ismay
FIRESTREAK W Rickaby Charles Nelson Mr J Lewis
MY ALLADIN Stan Clayton Walter Nightingall Mr E Littler
THREE WELLS J Eddery S McGrath (Ire) Mr J McGrath
CAPTAIN KIDD Manny Mercer Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery
DAN CUPID Roger Poincelet France Mme P A B Widener
      Over Round N/A