Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Racing at the Al Rayyan racecourse in the Oil rich country of Qatar first took place in 1975 when the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club was established. There were two attempts to launch racing at two different courses between 1975 and 2000, but the present racecourse first staged races in 2001.The track consists of a right handed 9 furlong turf track and an all-weather sand track on the inside of the turf course. The turf course has a circumference of 1800 metres with a run-in of 400 metres. The season begins in late October and extends through until May. From 2000 onwards the Qatar International Festival is the highlight of the season and is held in February. The principal race is the Qatar Derby, which is normally run on Boxing Day, along with the Qatar Oaks and 'Local' Derby. The other feature races are HH The Heir Apparent Trophy and HH The Emir's Trophy. The Emirs Trophy, a Group 1 for 3 year olds, is contested in late February and in 2014 was won by Dubday ridden by Frankie Dettori, who beat Peter Anders.

Local Patrons Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club
Principal Races Qatar Derby, Qatar Oaks, HH The Heir Apparent Trophy, HH The Emir's Trophy

Qatar Derby winners since 2010
2010 The Qatar Derby was won by Beethoven, beating Lancelot and Miss Starlight
2011 The Qatar Derby was won by Ladyanne, beating Brittany and Arrigo
2012 The Qatar Derby was won by Very Nice Name, beating Seema and Clean Bowled
2013 The Qatar Derby was won by Dubday, beating Beach Club and Oasis Cannes
2014 The Qatar Derby was won by Roman Legend, beating Ponfeigh and Rosso Corsa
2015 The Qatar Derby was won by Rogue Runner, beating Tannaaf and Shutterbug
2016 The Qatar Derby was won by Noor Al Hawa, beating Gerrards Quest and Al Mohalhal
2017 The Qatar Derby was won by MacMahon, beating Pazeer and Parviz
2018 The Qatar Derby was won by Full Moon, beating Mr Satchmo and Eshail

Qatar Oaks winners since 2011
2011 The Qatar Oaks was won by Miss Starlight, beating Saafia and Ice Empress
2012 The Qatar Oaks was won by Ladyanne, beating Mud Hilah and Al Madina
2013 The Qatar Oaks was won by Momalorka, beating Fahirah and Lady Moonlight
2014 The Qatar Oaks was won by Makruma, beating Nadirah and Charlies Wish
2015 The Qatar Oaks was won by Bronze Maquette, beating Akeed Misk and Juventas
2016 The Qatar Oaks was won by Mongo Tango, beating Croara and Matara
2017 The Qatar Oaks was won by Al Muraqabah, beating Scudding and Wayside Flower
2018 The Qatar Oaks was won by Mualah, beating Mzoon and Northern Beam

For further information visit

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to