Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 22nd May 1832
Final meeting: Friday 23rd June 1922
The Irish racecourse at the town of Ballina, situated on the River Moy, held races for a considerable number of years, although only those staged from the 1830s are noteworthy. Initially meetings were staged on the Mount Falcon course but then moved in the latter part of the 19th century to the Knoxbarret course. At the two day meeting on Monday 4th and Tuesday 5th October 1858 races were competitive, with the first Sweepstake over 2 miles and three 4 feet high walls being won by Mr McDermott’s Coleen Bawn, beating Nanny and Waxy Pope, while Barroness won the flat hacks race. However, meetings often failed to attract competitive fields; a case in point was the meeting on Saturday 27th April 1889 when only 17 horses contested the five races on the card. Matches, or 3 runner races, would need to involve class horses to attract a crowd, and Ballina races did not involve class horses. The final meeting took place on Friday 23rd June 1922.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 4 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Lord Clanmorris, Colonel Browne, Miss A Boyd-Rochfort
Principal Races Ballina Silver Challenge Cup, Ballina Committee Handicap Plate

Tuesday 22nd May 1832
Ballina £10 Sweepstake over 3 miles and 6 five feet high fences
1. Salmon, owned by Lord Clanmorris and ridden by Patsons Persse
2. Rifleman, owned by Mr Henry Bingham and ridden by Mr Fitzgerald
3. Waxy Rope, owned by Lieutenant-Colonel D Browne and ridden by Peter Brannick

Wednesday 17th May 1899

The Ballina Committee Handicap Plate over 2 and a half miles
1. Water Lily owned by Mr R R McCarrick
2. Carnacon owned by Mr V W Blake
3. Squalling Baby owned by Miss A Boyd-Rochfort

Ballina Ladies Plate over a mile and a half
1. Daisy’s Joy owned by Mr J R Nally
2. More Power owned by Mr G E Reid
3. Miss Baker owned by Mr H Lindsay-Fitzpatrick

The final meeting took place on Friday 23rd June 1922.
Course today

Old course at Mount Falcon and new course at Knoxbarret.

If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to