Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Monday 2nd August 1762
Final meeting: Wednesday 28th January 1880
Ballymoney is a small town in County Antrim located between Coleraine and Ballymena. It can trace its first races to 1762 when a 4 day meeting was held from Monday 2nd to Thursday 4th August.  Races were held intermittently after this inaugural meeting on a range of courses within the vicinity of the town. In the middle of the 19th century the Magennis Cup was introduced and was won for 3 consecutive years from 1843 to 1845 by Redwood, owned by Mr J McGildowney. In the 1860s the races became known as the Route Hunt races. The final record of a meeting was on Wednesday 28th January 1880 on fields owned by Mr R M Douglas, although the racing by this stage had become mediocre.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 4 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Lord Mount Eagle, Captain O’Brien
Principal Races Ballymoney Stakes, Magennis Cup

Monday 2nd to Thursday 5th August 1762

Ballymoney Stakes for Irish Bred horses over 3 miles
1. Executioner owned by Mr Lill
2. Nesgull owned by Mr Stuard
3. Unnamed mare owned by Mr Hutchinson

Ballymoney 4 Year Old Stakes
1. Dove owned by Lord Mount Eagle
2. Unnamed filly owned by Mr O’Neill
3. Lovely Sally owned by Mr Bennyson

Ballymoney Weight for Age Match over 4 miles
1. Strongbow owned by Lord Mount Eagle
2. Bellair owned by Mr O’Neill

The final meeting took place on Wednesday 28th January 1880.
Course today

A range of courses in the vicinity of the town, latterly on fields owned by Mr R M Douglas.

If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to