Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 23rd October 1832
Final meeting: Monday 25th September 1871
The Northumbrian village of Belford is situated midway between Alnwick and Berwick-upon-Tweed. Racing first took place at Belford in 1832, having previously been staged at Beadnell village some 10 miles from Belford. The course was a mile south west of Belford on Belford Moor where there had previously been a Danish Camp. At the meeting on Monday 8th October 1866 the main Hunters Stakes saw Mr Wilkinson’s Word of Honour get the better of Worcester. A sustained period of racing came to an end on Monday 21st September 1868, although there was a short-lived attempt to revive the races on Monday 25th September 1871.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Mr J Austen (I wonder!) It is known that Jane Austen visted Canterbury Racecourse. (see Canterbury Racecourse)
Principal Races Belford Members Stakes, Hunters Stakes, Belford Tradesmen's Stakes

Monday 8th October 1866

The Belford Members Stakes over 1 ½ miles
1. Marillo owned by Mr W Miller
2. Carperby owned by Mr J Austen
3. Tilt owned by Mr T Ruddock

The Belford Hunters Stakes over 1 ½ miles
1. Word of Honour owned by Mr Wilkinson
2. Worcester owned by Mr Taylor
3. Charcoal owned by Mr W Ross

Belford Tradesmen’s Stakes over a mile
1. Miss Shafto owned by Mr W Miller
2. Charcoal owned by Mr W Ross
3. Carperby owned by Mr J Austen

The final meeting took place on Monday 25th September 1871.
Course today A mile south west of the village on Belford Moor on ground originally a Danish camp.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to