Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Monday 30th May 1881
Final meeting: Monday 30th May 1881
Racing was staged at a number of venues in the Durham town of Billingham, on the River Tees, the last of which took place on Monday 30th May 1881 at the Old Course at Tibbersley. Racing of various forms had taken place in fields on the banks of the River Tees and also at Mandale Bottoms, but the main course was at Tibbersley owned by Mr Jackson from Yarm. Prior to this meeting racing had come to an end in Billingham in 1846 after a number of successful meetings. The May 1881 card consisted of four races, of which three were won by Mr Baird who ran his horses under the name of Mr Abington. He won the Tibbersley Hunters’ Plate with Benvoglio II, the Teesside Hurdle with Uncle Sam and gained a second win with the same horse in the Tradesemen’s Plate.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Mr Albington, Mr Dresser, Mr Sutton
Principal Races

Billingham Tradesmen’s Plate, Teesside Hurdle, Tibbersley Hunters Plate

Monday 30th May 1881

Tibbersley Hunters Plate
1. Benvoglio II owned by Mr Abington
2. Loiter owned by Mr C Dresser
3. Siberia owned by Mr Sutton
The winner wore Scarlet with a Blue cap, the second Red, White and Blue, whilst the third wore White with a Red Sash and Blue cap.

Sellers Hunters Plate
1. Uncle Sam owned by Mr Abington
2. Loadstone owned by Mr W Hope-Johnstone
3. Restless Polly owned by Mr W Lee
The winner wore Scarlet with a Blue cap, the second Black with a Cherry cap, whilst the third wore White with a Red sash and Blue cap.

Billingham Tradesmen’s Plate
1. Uncle Sam owned by Mr Abington
2. Loiter owned by Mr C Dresser
3. Siberia owned by Mr Sutton

The final meeting took place on Monday 30th May 1881
Course today On the banks of the River Tees on the outskirts of Tibbersley.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to