Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales farming town of Boorowa, some 340 kilometres west of the state capital Sydney, lies on the South West Slopes region of the state. The town dates back to 1843, although prior to that the land in the vicinity of the present town was being surveyed by George Evans as early as 1815. Indeed, it was originally thought that a site some 5 miles north-east of the present day town should be developed, but this was unsuitable. Today it has its own racecourse serving a population of approximately 1,400 inhabitants, where racing is overseen by the Boorowa Picnic Race Club, with the Boorowa Picnic Sprint the highlight of the card, normally held in the first Saturday in May. However, there is evidence that racing took place in Boorowa in the middle of the 19th century. In March 1857 a committee meeting took place at the Queen’s Arms Inn, Boorowa, to discuss and promote a 2 day race meeting scheduled for Tuesday 21st and Wednesday 22nd April 1857.

Local Patrons Boorowa Picnic Race Club
Principal Races Boorowa Picnic Sprint

Moving forward over half a century, a meeting was staged at the Boorowa Showground Racecourse on Tuesday 5th January 1915 when a train arrived from Galong carrying eager racegoers.

The next year a meeting took place on Wednesday 19th January 1916 when the card consisted of the Flying Handicap, Handicap Trial, Railway Handicap, Welter Handicap, Farewell Handicap and the feature race of the day, the Club Handicap.
Boorowa Club Handicap over 1 mile 33 yards
1. Wild West (1/2 fav) owned by Mr R Payne
2. Ned Fury owned by Mr W A Schofield
3. Galon owned by Mr W Hollibone
5 ran

A decade later the principal race of a 2 day meeting was the Squatter’s Cup over a mile.
Wednesday 18th February 1925
Boorowa Squatter’s Cup over 1 mile

1. Rose Again (Evens) owned by Mr W Bryant and ridden by Andrews
2. Mistretta (2/1)
3. Brew (6/4)
3 ran

The anniversary of the Boorowa Race Club was celebrated the next year when the feature race was the appropriately named Anniversary Handicap
Tuesday 26th January 1926
Boorowa Race Club Anniversary Handicap

1. Cyleene Laddie owned by Mr F C Pennington and ridden by Howard
2. High Plume ridden by Ferguson
3. Valfife ridden by Breasley
5 ran

Recent Boorowa Picnic Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on application)
2009 The Boorowa Cup ($2,240) over 1700 metres was won by Grimm (15/4) trained by JohnTyack and ridden by Mr J Mills, beating Seekadane and Danish Ruler 5 ran
2010 The Boorowa Cup ($2,240) over 1700 metres was won by Poker Pro (7/1) trained by John McGregor and ridden by Ms J Lindgren, beating Prinzaroo and Kurrajong 9 ran
2011 The Boorowa Picnic Cup ($2,240) over 1700 metres was won by Happy Holiday (5/2) trained by Mark Schmetzer and ridden by Ashley Boyd, beating November Dreaming and Penalty Shoot Out 5 ran
2012 The Boorowa Picnic Cup ($2,450) over 1700 metres was won by Old Mystique (6/1) trained by George Hoy and ridden by Mr R Blewitt, beating Rebu and Somebody Help Me 4 ran
2013 The Boorowa Cup ($2,450) over 1700 metres was won by Poer Poo (13/8 fav) trained by K R White and ridden by Blake Ryan, beating Old Mystique and Distinctly Sports 6 ran
2014 The Boorowa Cup meeting was abandoned
2015 The Boorowa Cup meeting was cancelled after the track was declared unsafe
2016 The Boorowa Cup meeting was abandoned
2017 The Boorowa Picnic Cup ($4,140) over 1700 metres was won by Black Fushion (7/4 fav) trained by Scott Spackman and ridden by Samara Johnson, beating Sergeant Bilko and Zaphod 7 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to be run successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to