Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Bundarra lies on the banks of the Gwydir River in the North Tablelands area of the state some 350 miles from the state capital Sydney. The area was explored by Edward Clerk and John Rankin in 1836 who decided to settle in an area they called ‘Bundarrah’, finding the grassland to their liking for rearing their sheep. Today the population has grown to almost 1000 inhabitants, if the surrounding area is included, and is well served by its own racecourse run by the Bundarra Race Club. However, records show that racing was taking place in Bundarra in the latter years of the 19th century. A meeting was certainly held on Thursday 26th December 1889 when the two principal races were the Bundarra Handicap, won by Red Lancer, and the Bundarra Town Plate which went to Myrtle.

Local Patrons Bundarra Race Club
Principal Races Bundarra Cup, Bundarra Town Plate, Bundarra Handicap

By the turn of the century the Bundarra Jockey Club were in charge of proceedings and held their two day meeting on the New Course on Wednesday 26th and Thursday 27th December 1900. The course had only been cleared and fenced the previous year, while a significant donation from Mr J H Jurd had paid for the new saddling paddock. Principal results from the meeting are shown below:-
Wednesday 26th December 1900
Bundarra Town Plate (15 sovereigns) over 1 mile

1. Ithona owned by Mr Munro
2. Moleen owned by Mr Bennett
2 ran
Thursday 27th December 1900
Bundarra Town Plate (20 sovereigns) over 9 furlongs

1. Moleen owned by Mr Bennett
2. Ithona owned by Mr Munro
2 ran

Today the annual meeting is normally scheduled for the first Saturday in October and features the Bundarra Cup over 1400 metres.
Recent winner of the Bundarra Cup
(A Full list of winners is available on request)

2008 The Bundarra Cup ($4,200) over 1400 metres was won by Mr Humerus (7/4 fav) trained by Bill Thompson and ridden by Tracy O’Hara, beating Victory Charm and Hard Castle 5 ran
2009 The Bundarra Cup ($4,200) over 1400 metres was won by Blue Oyster (7/1) trained by D P Bowen and ridden by Timothy Bell, beating Mr Mumbles and Nardoola Kid 7 ran
2010 The Bundarra Cup ($4,200) over 1400 metres was won by Dubai Jim (4/1) trained by Jane Clement and ridden by Ms T Nikora, beating Tough Habit and Zedda Jay 6 ran
2011 The Bundarra Cup meeting waqs abandoned
2012 The Bundarra Cup ($4,540) over 1400 metres was won by Rhodonite (3/1) trained by Lea Selby and ridden by Courtney Van Der Werf, beating All Again and Clear Knight 9 ran
2013 The Bundarra Cup ($4,540) over 1400 metres was won by The Early Bird (9/4) trained by Gavin Groth and ridden by Leanne Henry, beating Blinkin Easy and Rhodonite 9 ran
2014 The Bundarra Cup ($4,540) over 1400 metres was won by Jedak (9/4) trained by Jane Clement and ridden by Rachael Murray, beating Beauzel and Mr Giggles 7 ran
2015 The Bundarra Cup ($4,540) over 1400 metres was won by Beauzel (25/1) trained by Sandra McCormack and ridden by Wayne O’Connell, beating Some Boy and Sambora 9 ran
2016 The Bundarra Cup meeting was abandoned
2017 The Bundarra Cup ($4,565) over 1400 metres was won by Kyrgios (7/2) trained by Melissa Dennett and ridden by Luke Cumberland, beating Our Danny Boy and Clipaholic 10 ran

Course today The meeting continues to be run successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com