Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The Moroccan port of Casablanca, the largest city in the country, is located in the central western Maghreb region and borders the Atlantic Ocean.  The city has a population of 3.35 million, with up to 6.8 million in the Casablanca-Settat region surrounding the city. The city boasts the oldest racecourse in Morocco known locally as Casa-Arifa, opening its gates for the first time in 1912. The course is located in the district of Arifa, to the west of the city of Casablanca, and is a right handed oval dirt track of about 8 furlongs (1700 metres), regularly hosting cards between September and July. Racing in Morocco is organised by the Societe Royale d’Encouragement du Cheval which was established in 2003. The principal race at the track is the Grand Prix Sa Majeste Le Roi Mohamed which is contested each November, with a list of recent winners shown below.

Local Patrons Societe Royale d’Encouragement du Cheva
Principal Races Grand Prix Sa Majeste Le Roi Mohamed

Grand Prix Sa Majeste Le Roi Mohamed winners since 2013
2013 The Grand Prix was won by Billabong ridden by F Abderrahim
2014 The Grand Prix was won by Garrogorille ridden by B Fakkar
2015 The Grand Prix was won by Arkaitz ridden by J Martinez
2016 The Grand Prix was won by Striving ridden by F Abderrahim
2017 The Grand Prix was won by Bandar trained by F Sanchez and ridden by I Mendizabal
2018 The Grand Prix was won by Az-Zubayr trained by J Seyssel and ridden by S Madihi

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to