Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Cobar is located almost 445 miles north-west of the state capital Sydney and is famous for its copper mining. It has a population in excess of 4000 in the town, with a further 4,700 in the surrounding shires, and hosts its own race meetings administered by the Cobar Miners Race Club at the Dalton Park Horse Complex. The meetings traditionally take place on the second Saturday in May, with the highlight of the card being the Cobar Cup over 1700 metres. However, the earliest record of a meeting in the town was a 2 day meeting on Monday 15th and Tuesday 16th July 1878 on a racecourse 2 miles from the town centre which could be reached by using Warren’s coaches. A crowd of about 500 attended that inaugural meeting, when the Steward was Mr I J K Cohn and the crowd were entertained between races by the Cobar Brass Band.

Local Patrons Cobar Miners Race Club, Cobar Jockey Club
Principal Races Cobar Cup, Town Plate, Cobar Handicap

A year later the 2 day meeting was staged on Sunday 6th and Monday 7th April 1879.
Sunday 6th April 1879
Cobar 120 sovereigns Handicap

1. Mabel owned by Mr Byrne
2. Zella owned by Mr Shaw
3. Pimpampa owned by Mr Austin
Monday 7th April 1879
Cobar 50 sovereigns Town Plate

1. Radical owned by Mr Eccles
2. Pimpampa owned by Mr Austin
3. Mabel owned by Mr Byrne

By the turn of the century the Cobar Jockey Club had introduced the Cobar Cup. In 1900 it took place at the two day meeting on Tuesday 16th and Wednesday 17th October 1900 and was won by Mr Porter’s Buckle.
1900 Cobar Cup was won by Buckle owned by Mr Porter, beating Napoleon owned by Mr Dubois and Ingomar owned by Mr Hunt
1901 Cobar Cup (100 sovereigns) over 1 mile 1 furlong was won by Pactiolus owned by Mr J Hull and ridden by Jones, beating Goldburst and Oriel
From 1902 Cobar Races took a downturn when a crowd of less than 100 attended the anniversary meeting due to the general depression in the town and district.

Recent Cobar Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2009 The Cobar Cup ($2,800) over 1370 metres was won by Grimm (7/2) trained by John Tyack and ridden by Tiffany Jeffries, beating Faux Pas and Rockingham 4 ran
2010 The Cobar Cup ($3,500) over 1700 metres was won by Generous Huka (7/2) trained by Cindy Monaghan and ridden by Jeff Kehoe, beating Havahalf and Prince Raheed 7 ran
2011 The Cobar Cup ($3,500) over 1700 metres was won by All Full (9/2) trained by Wayne Collison and ridden by Sarah Trebley, beating A Beaut Pick and Grand Nearctic 5 ran
2012 The Cobar Cup ($3,500) over 1700 metres was won by Eureka John (15/4) trained by Brett Thompson and ridden by Hannah Martin, beating Ziazan and Millennium Hawk 6 ran
2013 The Cobar Cup ($4,080) over 1700 metres was won by Teraset (6/1) trained by Allan Prisk and ridden by Michael Hackett, beating Double Crescent and Dr Remlap
2014 The Cobar Cup ($4,080) over 1700 metres was won by Sergeant Bilko (8/1) trained by Lindsey Kennedy and ridden by Jeff Kehoe, beating Teraset and Blades of Glory 6 ran
2015 The Cobar Cup ($5,820) over 1700 metres was won by Magic Bella (13/8) trained by Rodney Robb and ridden by Kody Nestor, beating Teraset and Fairisle Miss 5 ran
2016 The Cobar Cup ($5,820) over 1700 metres was won by War Horse (4/1) trained by Russell Green and ridden by Tiffany Jeffries, beating Right of Reply and Filomena 8 ran
2017 The Cobar Cup ($5,900) over 1700 metres was won by Fairisle Miss (7/2) trained by Brett Thompson and ridden by Chelsea Ings, beating Rusty Motorbike and Lens 8 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to