This was run on Wednesday 4th June 1902 and the winner was bred by Mr John Gubbins and trained by Sam Darling at Beckhampton. There were 18 runners from an initial entry of 282. The winner won by 3 lengths, with 3 lengths between second and third. The winning time was 2 minutes 40.2 secs. The winner won a first prize of £5,450, the equivalent of £1,850,000 today.


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 ARD PATRICK J.H. (Skeets) Martin John Gubbins
2 RISING GLASS G.McCall Colonel H.McCalmont
3 FRIAR TUCK M.Cannon Duke of Portland
4 SCEPTRE Randall Mr R S Sievier


Maher Duke of Devonshire
Also FOWLING PIECE C.Jenkins Mr J Barrow
Also ROYAL LANCER C.Horan Sir J.Blundell Maple
Also CARO Moreton Duke of Portland
Also PEKIN Halsey Mr G A Prentice
Also ROYAL IVY K.Cannon Mr Leopold de Rothschild
Also CSARDAS J.McCall Mr R Forrest Tod
Also INTRUDER Rigby Mr W C Whitney
Also KEARSAGE Spencer Mr J R Keene
Also DUKE OF WESTMINSTER S.Loates Mr George Faber
Also WATER WHEEL Clemson Mr Fairie
Also LANCEWOOD C.Leader Mr J S Curtis
Also ROBERT LE DIABLE Lewis Lord Carnarvon
Evens Sceptre
6/1 Pekin
100/14 Ard Patrick
100/8 Intruder
100/8 Fowling Piece
100/7 Friar Tuck
25/1 Cheers
25/1 Royal Ivy
33/1 Duke of Westminster
40/1 Csardas
40/1 Royal Lancer
40/1 Rising Glass
66/1 Robert le Diable
100/1 Caro
100/1 Kearsage
100/1 Prince Florizell
200/1 Lancewood
200/1 Water Wheel

For all of your Epsom Derby books and memorabilia visit:-