This was run on Wednesday 6th June 1973 and the winner was bred by the Park Farm Stud and trained by Arthur Budgett. There were 25 runners and the winning time was 2 mins 35.92 secs. The winner won by 1/2 a length with2 1/2 lengths to the third. The winner won a first prize of £66,348.75, (The equivalent of £762,800 in today's terms based on Bank of England inflation calculator).


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

GN1914.JPG (11652 bytes)

The Youtube website and bank of film clips provide excellent coverage of the Epsom Derby. The link below is a 45 second clip of the Derby.


Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 MORSTON Edward Hide Arthur Budgett Mr A Budgett
2 CAVO DORO Lester Piggott M V O'Crien Captain Marcos Lemos
3 FREEFOOT Pat Eddery Harry Wragg Mr R B Moller
4 KSAR Willie Carson Bernard van Cutsem Lord Rotherwick
Also RAGAPAN Bill Williamson Kevin Prendergast Mr F O'Sullivan
Also RELAY RACE Greville Starkey Henry Cecil Sir R Macdonald-Buchanan
Also SEA PIGEON Tony Murray Jeremy Tree Mr J Whitney
Also HONEY CREPE Paul Cook J F Watts Mr J Phillips
Also KNOCK OUT Sandy Barclay Francois Boutin Mrs A Munning
Also BALOMPIE J.Cruguet Angel Penna Comtess M Batthyany
Also NATSUN Geoff Lewis Barry Hills Mr N Cohen
Also PROJECTOR Geoff Baxter Arthur Budgett Colonel P Wright
Also SOLAR WIND T.Murphy C Magnier Nrs C Magnier
Also BALLY GAME Yves Saint-Martin Rogue Mony Pujol Mme Leon Volterra
Also DRAW THE LINE Philip Waldron Ian Balding Mr Paul Mellon
Also DUKE OF RAGUSA Jon Gorton Bruce Hobbs Lord Rosebery
Also PROVERB Ernie Johnson Barry Hills Lt-Col J Chandos-Foie
Also MON FILS Frankie Durr Richard Hannon Mrs B Davis
Also CLUB HOUSE Joe Mercer W R Hern Sir Michael Sobell
Also PRINCELY REVIEW George Moore C Benstead Sir D Clague
Also FLINTSTONE R Parnell D Whelan Mr A Perry
Also PROBOSCIS Eric Eldin Doug Smith Mrs W Jones
Also REMOKE M L (Taffy) Thomas R Jarvis Mr V Matthews
Also NOBLE DECREE Brian Taylor Bernard van Cutsem Mr Nelson Bunker Hunt


Freddie Head Alec Head Mme P Wertheimer
5/1 Ksar      
11/2 Mon Fils      
9/1 Noble Decree      
10/1 Bally Game      
11/1 Natsun      
12/1 Cavo Doro      
20/1 Relay Race      
22/1 Club House      
22/1 Satingo      
25/1 Solar Wind      
25/1 Morston      
28/1 Projector      
28/1 Ragapan      
33/1 Freefoot      
33/1 Knock Out      
40/1 Proverb      
45/1 Draw The Line      
50/1 Balompie      
50/1 Sea Pigeon      
66/1 Solar Wind      
100/1 Flintstone      
200/1 Honey Crepe      
200/1 Princely Review      
200/1 Proboscis      
200/1 Remoke      
Over Round 114%