Doomben.JPG (13060 bytes) DOOMBEN RACECOURSE Brisbane 1958.JPG (4999 bytes)

The racecourse at Doomben is situated about 7 kilometres away from Brisbane City centre and hosts 3 Group One races each year.

Doomben 1997.JPG (21145 bytes) Each of the Group Ones are run in May. The shortest, the BTC Cup, is over 1200 metres, whilst the Doomben Cup is the longest and is run over 2200 metres. The Doomben Cup was first competed for in 1933 when run over 10 furlongs and won by Pentheus. The latest running in 2008 was won by Sarrera.


Doomben 1984.JPG (14232 bytes)
The Brisbane Times Cup was first run in 1983 when won by Strawberry Road. Its most recent running,in 2008, saw Apache Cat triumphant.


Doomben 1986.JPG (8716 bytes) The Doomben 10000 is an open race run over 13500 metres. It was first run in 1946 over 7 furlongs when won by Bernborough, and the latest winner in 2008 was Apache Cat. Doomben 1987.JPG (8425 bytes)
If you have badges, racecards, pictures of the racecourse or further details about the course, including your memories, then email