Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Nyngan , located on the  Bogan River at the junction of Mitchell and Barrier Highways, is where the Duck Creek Picnic Races are held annually. The Race Club is named after Duck Creek, a tributary streaming from Beckett’s Creek, and first served Nyngan’s population of just over 2,000 people with races in 2007, with no evidence of races in the vicinity of Duck Creek prior to this date. Today the highlight of the Duck Creek racing calendar is the Duck Creek Picnic Cup over 1250 metres, with recent winners shown below.

Local Patrons Duck Creek Picnic Race Club
Principal Races Duck Creek Picnic Cup

In 2008, at the second annual race meeting organised by the Duck Creek Picnic Race Club, the Flashman and Chalker Duck Creek Picnic Cup over 1250 metres was won by Heresy (9/1) trained by Tammy Schmetzer and ridden by Ashley Boyd, beating Dream With You and Frenchman’s Cup. The previous year the 2007 Duck Creek Cup had been won by Dream With You.

Recent Duck Creek Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2012 Duck Creek Cup over 1235 metres was won by She’s Anonymous trained by Fiona Watts and ridden by Isabelle Chandler
2014 Duck Creek Cup over 1250 metres was won by Win For Wilson (8/1) trained by Rodney Robb and ridden by Tim Phillips, beating Hidden Strategy and Blades of Glory 7 ran
2015 Duck Creek Cup over 1250 metres was won by Angel of Rocks (6/1) trained by Russell Green and ridden by Ricky Blewitt, beating Blades of Glory and Malone
2016 Duck Creek Cup over 1250 metres was won by Sanvel (5/1) trained by Wayne Collison and ridden by Billy Owen, beating Sergeant Bilko and Cyclone Andy
2017 Duck Creek Cup over 1250 metres was won by Rehanaat (8/1) trained by Sharon Jeffries and ridden by Ashley Boyd, beating Didyahearme and Emerald Fortune

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to