Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1932 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 BIRTHDAY BOOK R Dick Lawson Lord Astor 8/1
2 CAT O' NINE TAILS R James R J Colling Mrs J Carruthers 100/6
3 SIR GALADALE K Robertson Frank Butters Captain A S Wills 10/1
4 KING STORK F Hunter Atty Persse Lady C Montagu 100/8
5 ROCKLIFFE H Wragg O Bell Lord Londonderry 10/1
6 POTCHIM T Barber Davis Mr B Davis 20/1
7 NIEMAN Eph Smith W Smyth Mrs Redman 33/1
8 THIRD DEGREE J Sirett Cottrill Sir L Brassey 20/1
9 BROTHER-IN-LAW G Richards F Darling Mr J A Dewar 10/1
10 ROCK STAR H Beasley W Nightingall Sir M Wilson 11/2 fav
11 BUOYANT BACHELOR S Wragg Jack Jarvis Mr C W Gordon 100/6
12 TIPPETS S Donoghue Basil Jarvis Mr J P Hornung 10/1
13 HAPPY MOOD C Richards T Waugh Lady Ralli 20/1
14 SEER T Lowrey J Cannon Mr G Peck 9/1
15 BLANDEARNA F Fox R Day Sir Abe Bailey 100/7
16 DICTUM T Weston Rimell Lady B Smith 100/8
17 BRITISH SAILOR F Rickaby Hogg Lord Glanely 20/1
18 LEONARD W Nevett Elsey Mr H F Clayton 100/6
19 ST KOSCIE J Dines Molony Sir C Wadia 20/1
20 LIGHT O' LOVE A Burns Jack Jarvis Mr E Esmond 33/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, otook place on Wednesday 15th June 1932 and the winner was a bay colt by Son-in-law out of Short Story, won a first prize which had a first prize of 830 sovereigns (equivalent to £44,000 in 2020). Over round 144%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932