Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1933 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 ROCK STAR C Buckham Major Beatty Sir M Wilson 100/7
2 THAOUKA C Elliott France M M Boussac 100/6
3 DENBIGH W Nevett M Peacock Sir E Tate 4/1 fav
4 KING STORK P Evans Jack Jarvis Lord Montagu 33/1
5 ST KOSCIE F Fox Molony Sir C Wadia 100/8
6 TAJ UD DIN H Wragg Frank Butters HH Aga Khan 100/7
7 TIMBER A Taylor George Todd Mr M Kayton 100/7
8 PINNACLE A Richardson H Fergusson Mrs Chester Beatty 33/1
9 COASTER S Wragg Templeman Sir H Hirst 33/1
10 HILL CAT R Perryman C Leader Captain B Wilson 6/1
11 PICKLE D McGuigan Webb Sir H Blackett 100/8
12 VENTURER C Ray Clancy Mr H Eves 100/8
13 ERAIN S Donoghue Basil Jarvis Mr B Jarvis 33/1
14 OVERALL C Richards Blagrave Mr H Blagrave 100/8
15 EPICURE G Richards W Nightingall Mr F W Wilmot 20/1
16 LEICESTER LANE R James R J Colling Lt-Col J Carruthers 33/1
17 WITHIN-THE-LAW W Wells J Cannon Lady Yule 10/1
18 ISTHMUS G Nicoll Elsey Mr H F Clayton 100/8
19 MEREWORTH J Sirett Frank Butters Mr E Harmsworth 33/1
20 BLOATER Eph Smith Jack Jarvis Lord Rosebery 33/1
21 SIR GALADALE W Christie F Hartigan Mrs H E Beddington 100/6
22 CAPRICHO C Spares Cundell Mr L A Cundell 33/1
23 FARIO A Burns Walters Sir R Garton 33/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, otook place on Wednesday 14th June 1933 and the winner was a bay colt by Sherwood Starr out of Rockmills, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1520 (equivalent to £111,000 in 2020). Over round 144%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933