Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1946 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 ESQUIMALT G Richards F Darling Lord Porchester 8/1
2 BRIDAL PATH P Evans R J Colling Mr J S Barrington 100/8
3 PIPING TIME C Richards Lawson Mr A R Cox 100/7
4 PARHELION E Smith J Jarvis Lord Rosebery 5/1
5 BARODA SQUADRON E Britt Sneyd Gaekwar of Baroda 5/2 fav
6 SOLID PACT T Gosling F Hartigan Mr J Solomon 100/8
7 FILIUS T Weston R Perryman Mr S Joel 100/8
8 I WILL D Smith G Colling Mr V Oliver 20/1
9 TRIPLE BAR T H Carey J Wood Mr J G Durant 100/8
10 SHAHID A Richardson Bisggod Mr S B Plummer 20/1
11 DANCING FLAME M Beary Duller Mrs H W Chapple 100/6
12 VICTORY SALUTE J Sime J Reardon Mr A E Berry 100/7
13 NICE DAY F Sharpe F S Butters Mrs A Bayley-Worthington 33/1
14 ROYAL TROPHY P Canty G Todd Mrs M Law 100/7
15 ST CLEMENT F Durr Sneyd Lord Ennisdale 100/7
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, took place on Wednesday 19th June 1946 and the winner was a bay colt by Lighthouse out of Gold Leaf, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1300 (equivalent to £56,000 in 2020). Over round 134%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946