Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1947 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 EASTERN LYRIC K Gethin Wallington Mr W Satinoff 5/1 fav
2 SIGNALMAN C Elliott H Leader Mr B Van Cutsem 13/2
3 PAPPATEA W Carr G Boyd Mr R G Simpson 100/8
4 MOIDORE E Smith J Jarvis Lord Rosebery 10/1
5 FRENCH TOY E Britt F Armstrong Mr A E Berry 100/9
6 STIRLING CASTLE C Smirke G Todd Mr A E Saunders 100/8
7 RAY G Richards F Darling Mr J A Dewar 100/8
8 COUP NAPOLEON D Smith H Peacock Lord Rosebery 100/8
9 GOLDEN GLEAM C Richards Winter Mr P Bartholomew 100/8
10 ESQUIMALT T Weston Lowe Mr E Pacitto 100/8
11 FLAG WALLAH J Sime J A Waugh Lady Ralli 100/7
12 CARASSIN T Gosling C Pratt Baron E De Rothschild 100/7
13 ESTIVAL T Sidebottom Perryman Mrs J Rogerson 100/6
14 TONY LUMPKIN M Beary Payne Lt-Col R B Moseley 100/6
15 BRISTOL FASHION Cullis Sneyd Mr T Pebbles 20/1
16 PTOLEMEC II E Jones R Bennett Mr F J Honour 25/1
17 ABLE SEAMAN H Packham Cazalet Captain M Dennis 25/1
18 BRIDLE PATH T Bartlam Blackmore Mr J S Barrington 25/1
19 CHATEAU ROUSSEL Sword Murless Mr F D Wadia 25/1
20 KELPER C Waller Swash Mr J Hockman 25/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, took place on Wednesday 18th June 1947 and the winner was a grey colt by Taj Ud Din out of Cossor Song, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1000 (equivalent to £40,000 in 2020). Over round 145%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947