Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1950 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 RUMPELSTILSKIN W Snaith Colonel Dick Warden Mr Jeremy Tree 15/2
2 MOONDUST C Smirke M Marsh HH Aga Khan 100/8
3 MERRY MONTH C Richards G Todd Mr A J Thomas 9/2 fav
4 RAHSHAS C Elliott H Leader Mr H C Leader 15/2
5 PROMOTION Scobie Breasley Cannon Mr J V Rank 100/8
6 MY CHUM G Littlewood Elsey Mr J Hetherton 100/8
7 SLAPDASH D Smith W Pratt Lord Derby 100/8
8 FASTONE G Richards M Marsh HH Aga Khan 100/7
9 DANKALI E Britt F Armstrong Maharajah of Rajpipla 100/6
10 DEUCES WILD L Piggott Hanbury Mrs E Darrell 100/6
11 RED BRAE E Smith Lawson Mr A R Cox 100/6
12 COALITION K Gethin George Wilson Mr H W Smith 20/1
13 MERRY MILLER W Rickaby T F Rimell Mr J C Ross 20/1
14 PAPIST T Mahon McMullen Mr C C Cameron 20/1
15 FIL D'OR II S Wragg Beary Mr R G G Sedgwick 33/1
16 FRESHFORD W Carr Warden Mr F Foster 33/1
17 NOBLE MANNA J Sirett Nightingall Mr E C Simmons 33/1
18 ALDERMAN A Holloway R Ward Mr D R Thomas 33/1
19 CRESTA CUP H Packham Read Mr D Baker 33/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, took place on Wednesday 14th June 1950 and the winner was a bay horse by His Grace out of Fairy Godmother, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1200 (equivalent to £41,000 in 2020). Over round 129%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949