Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1951 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 PROUD SCOT Neil Sellwood P Nelson Major F S Bates 100/6
2 ROCK & RYE D Smith H Peacock Mr R S Clark 100/8
3 SPORTING OFFER J Sime Templeman Mr D J Davies 100/8
4 VIDI VICI W Nevett T R Rimell Mr P G Thompson 8/1
5 ROCKSPRING F Durr de Moraville Mrs P Somervell 20/1
6 UTINDA E Smith Barling Lord Ellesmere 20/1
7 SPORTS MASTER W Cook M Beary Mr D Morris 20/1
8 SINBAD T Carter Persse Lord Sefton 100/8
9 RED HAVEN R Reader Nightingall Mrs E L Garner 20/1
10 GOYUCA G Richards Johnson-Houghton Mr P Oldfield 20/1
11 PROMOTION A Breasley Cannon Mr J V Rank 13/2 fav
12 SUN FLAME F Barlow K Cundell Lt-Col D Wallis 25/1
13 PARADISO W Rickaby J Jarvis Lord Rosebery 100/6
14 CIDER APPLE J Sirett T E Leader Captain A Jameson 25/1
15 MUSH K Gethin P Thrale Mr H Steel 20/1
16 SIGNALMAN E C Elliott Bisgood Major G Whitelaw 25/1
17 STRONG IN THE ARM E Mercer J Jarvis Mrs F Williams 100/6
18 MOORISH SPANGLE L Piggott K Cundell Mr K Cundell 100/6
19 MISTY LIGHT W Snaith Bertie Sir Victor Sassoon 10/1
20 FINALIS J Ferris Beary Mr Ley On 25/1
21 TEMPO D Greening Davison Mr J Ismay 20/1
22 FOXBORO W Johnstone V Smyth Mr C Harper 100/7
23 NOBLEST ROMAN J Mercer J Anthony Lt-Col E Harewood 25/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, took place on Wednesday 13th June 1951 and the winner was a bay horse by Scottish Union out of Ocean Pride, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1578 (equivalent to £51,000 in 2020). Over round 146%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949
1950 1951