Royal Ascot: Duke of Edinburgh Stakes

The Duke of Edinburgh Stakes is a flat handicap over 1 mile 3 furlongs and 211 yards open to horses of three-year-old and up. The race was previously known as the Bessborough Stakes and was named after John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough, who was Master of the Buckhounds on three occasions between 1848 and 1858 under Lord John Russell, Lord Aberdeen and Lord Palmerston. The first race under the original name of the Bessborough Stakes, was a five-furlong race for two-year-olds run on Tuesday 16th June 1914. The title was later bestowed on a mile and a half handicap race at the same meeting. In 1999 the race was renamed in honour of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, although the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes had previously been used for a two-year-old race at Ascot, with Sea Pigeon a former winner who later landed the Champion Hurdle.
Early history:- The inaugural running of the Bessborough Stakes, a forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, was over 5 furlongs on Tuesday 16th June 1914 when Mr W Astor's Good and Gay (100/8) defeated Rossendale (10/1), Scotch Rose (100/6) and 13 others by a head and 2 lengths.

Bessborough Stakes 1952 Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 HOAR-FROST D Smith A Richardson Mr H G Goodrich 100/7
2 MORNING TRIAL R Arnold G Todd Mr W G Turriff 100/6
3 MASONIC ERROR T Mahon W Stephenson Sir M Ward 25/1
4 SOLAR G Richards Ireland Prince Aly Khan 9/2 fav
5 PROUD SCOT E Britt P Nelson Sir B Mountain 5/1
6 CANNON GAME E Smith Nightingall Col F T Halse 100/9
7 PALAIS GLIDE J Etherington R Peacock Col P L Wright 100/8
8 MID VIEW Bunker Wallington Mrs V Pacitto 100/8
9 HERVINE E Mercer G Colling Mr F G Robinson 100/7
10 PALM OIL W Snaith R J Colling Mr W W Astor 100/7
11 PETER FLOWER Rickaby J Jarvis Lord Rosebery 100/6
12 EXPEDITIOUS Piggott Cannon Mrs J V Rank 100/6
13 CLAUDIUS Reader Warden Lady Fitzwilliam 100/6
14 LANCASHIRE LASSIE J Lindley R Smyth Mr G R Beard 100/6
15 URFE Greening W Wightman Mr P Hatvany 100/6
16 WAYLAND R Hughes J C Waugh Mr G C Vandervell 20/1
17 SPORTING OFFER Gethin Templeman Mr D J Davies 20/1
18 REFUND F Durr A Kerr Mr J U Baillie 33/1
19 GALWAY BAY Packham George Wilson Mr H W Smith 33/1
20 THE GLOOMY SENTRY A Carson E Williams Mr R Morley 33/1
21 STAR TWILIGHT S Clayton J C Waugh Mr T H Lawley 33/1
The Bessborough Stakes, forerunner of the Duke of Edinburgh Stakes, took place on Wednesday 18th June 1952 and the winner was a bay horse by Winterhalter out of Derisley Wood, won a first prize which had a first prize of £1578 (equivalent to £51,000 in 2020). Over round 142%
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes Handicap 1 mile 4 furlongs 1914
        1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919
1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929
1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939
1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949
1950 1951 1952