Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Dunkeld Racecourse is situated off the Glenelg Highway some 160 miles West of Melbourne in Victoria. There is evidence that racing took place in the vicinity of Dunkeld as early as 1840, although the first recorded meeting was in 1874. The Dunkeld Racing Club, formed in 1948, was a late to emerge, but by the 1950's they started to gain strength. They enjoyed the freedom that came with owning their own racecourse and they have grown in strength throughout the past half century. The left handed oval turf track has an 8 furlong circumference with a one furlong home straight. There is just one meeting staged annually on a Saturday in the middle of November, often drawing in a crowd in excess of 12,000, featuring the Dunkeld Cup over 1800 metres.

Local Patrons Dunkeld Racing Club
Principal Races Dunkeld Cup

Dunkeld Cup winners since 2008
2008 The Dunkeld Cup ($16,500) over 1800 metres was won by Key Symbol (11/4) trained by S Wilde and ridden by Stan Tsaikos, beating Allenby’s Mate and Mad Dugal
2009 The Dunkeld Cup ($15,000) over 1800 metres was won by Hurricane Charlie (9/1) trained by Terry OSullivan and ridden by Ms C Mason, beating Papa and Lord Lucan
2010 The Dunkeld Cup ($15,000) over 1800 metres was won by Trojan of Troy (5/2) trained by Peter Foster and ridden by C Pace, beating Testa Rocca and Mr Paparazzi
2011 The Dunkeld Cup ($25,000) over 1800 metres was won by Abitofado (3/1) trained by Patrick Ryan and ridden by Andrew Mallyon, beating Irish High King and Cruyfforme
2012 The Dunkeld Cup ($25,000) over 1800 metres was won by Pennon (5/2) trained by Andrew Payne and ridden by Linda Meech, beating Sonny Wellington and Bojani
2013 The Dunkeld Cup $(25,000) over 1800 metres was won by Gatalistic (20/1) trained by Darren Kolpin and ridden by Jason Lyon, beating Hornets Nest and Xavier
2014 The Dunkeld Cup ($25,000) over 1800 metres was won by Diamonds At Noon (7/1) trained by Bill Cerchi and ridden by Steven Vella, beating Orientaped and Henshaw
2015 The Dunkeld Cup $(30,000) over 1800 metres was won by Diamond Duke (8/1) trained by Paul Preusker and ridden by Holly McKechnie, beating Honourable Aussie and Beau Brommell
2016 The Dunkeld Cup ($30,000) over 1800 metres was won by Saturday Sorcerer (9/2) trained by Chris Calthorpe and ridden by Beau Mertens, beating Zlatan and Siga La Vaca
2017 The Dunkeld Cup ($30,000) over 1800 metres was won by Unrealistic (10/1) trained by Geoff Withers and ridden by Georgina Cartwright, beating Brigadier and Eschiele
2018 The Dunkeld Cup ($45,000) over 1800 metres was won by Penny To Sell (Evens fav) trained by Mick Sell and ridden by Craig Robertson, beating Scherzoso and Owl On The Prowl

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com