Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Records show that a racecourse existed at the Serangoon Road Race course since 1842. The Singapore Sporting Club had been formed on 4th December 1842 and it was they who administered the Farrer Park Racecourse. Rapid developments took place to get the course ready for the first meeting to be held on 19th February 1843, but it was not completed in time and that first meeting did not take place until 25th February 1843. The Singapore Cup, part of the Singapore Triple Crown, was held for the first time in 1924, and all winners of the Cup when run at Farrer Park are shown below.

Local Patrons Singapore Turf Club
Principal Races Singapore Cup

The photo above shows the racecourse in 1905.

The Singapore Cup, currently contested over 2200 metres, is the third leg of the Triple Crown following on from the Kranji Mile and Raffles Cup. It was first run on 18th October  1924 at Farrer Park when won by Thelasocrte ridden by A Heterick, securing a first prize of £1,600. Full details of Cup winners are shown below:-
1924 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Thelasocrete owned by JM Stable, trained and ridden by A Heterick
1925 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Bonnie Friend, owned by Mr I Ellison, trained by W Redfearn and ridden by A W Sleigh
1926 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Sultan, owned by Mr Alan Loke, trained by T Woodgate and ridden by T C Thompson
1927 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Barbara Godolphin, owned by A Dick, trained by E Bowden and ridden by B Hayes
1928 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Millicent, owned by T Menzies, trained by J Orchard and ridden by F C Mayo
1929 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Café Royal, owned by the Sultan of Perak, trained by P Logue and ridden by G Robinson
1930 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Abbot’s gift, owned by H Helling, trained by J Duval and ridden by E Donnelly
1931 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Lightarmed, owned by Alan Loke, trained by J Duval and ridden by C V Whalan
1932 The Singapore Cup over 2414 metres was won by Punkawalla, owned by Teoh Kon Moh, trained by M van Breukelen and ridden by William Irvine
1933 The Singapore Cup over 2011 metres was won by Row Boat, owned by Anam Kongsi, trained by W Redfearn amd ridden by C O Davies

By 1933 the Club were seeking new premises and found them just down the road at Bukit Timah. They held their first meeting on 15th April 1933. As for Farrer Park, it became an athletics track and more recently a school.

The final meeting took place in 1933
Course today It is now an athletics track and school.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com