This was run on Monday 29th February 1836 at Aintree. There were 10 runners and the winners time was 20 minutes 10 seconds.


GN1907.JPG (8122 bytes)

GN1908.JPG (8001 bytes)

GN1910.JPG (7999 bytes)

GN1911.JPG (7976 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 THE DUKE Captain Martin Becher Mr Sirdefield
2 POLYANTHUS Dick Christian Mr Aspinall
3 COCKAHOOP Bartholomew Bretherton Mr Thomas
4 PERCY Mr W.Tempest Mr Speed
also LAURIE TODD Horatio Powell Sir T.Stanley
also THE BARONET Mr E.N.Kershaw Mr E.N.Kershaw
also DERRY John Devine Mr Webster
also GULLIVER Mr J.Denton Mr Oswald
also THE SWEEP Giles Patrick Mr Ward
also COWSLIP Mr S.Martin Mr Devine
2/1 Laurie Todd
3/1 The Duke
5/1 Polyanthus
6/1 Percy
6/1 The Baronet
8/1 Derry
8/1 Gulliver
9/1 Cockahoop
10/1 The Sweep
12/1 Cowslip
Whilst this is not an original results card, all details, including jockeys colours, are correct.

I am very grateful to George Selwyn and John Pinfold for the picture of The Duke shown below. The picture is from page ii of Gallant Sport written by John Pinfold and printed by Halifax: Portway Press in 1999. To purchase a copy of this go to the Amazon Grand National store shown below.