This was run on the 27th March 1908 with the going heavy despite sunny weather.The winning time was 10 minutes 33 2/5 secs.


GN1915.JPG (7863 bytes)

GN1919.JPG (8821 bytes)

GNwar.JPG (7744 bytes)

GN1920.JPG (8032 bytes)

GN1921.JPG (11916 bytes)

Pos. Horse Jockey Owner
1 RUBIO H Bletsoe Major F Douglas-Pennant
2 MATTIE MACGREGOR W Bissell Mr W Cooper
3 THE LAWYER III Mr P Whitaker Mr P Whittaker
4 FLAXMAN A Anthony His Majesty the King
also SPRINGBOK J O'Brien Colonel R L Birkin
also RED HALL Mr H G Farrant Mr H G Farrant
also KIRKLAND F Mason Mr F Bibby
also CHORUS R Chadwick Mr Foxhall Keene
also ROMAN LAW A Newey Mr A Buckley Jnr
also SEISDON PRINCE M Phelan Mr T Ashton
also EXTRAVAGANCE H Aylin Mr G Walmesley
also LARA Mr Bulteel Captain J Foster
also NANOYA J Lynn Mr B W Parr
also TOM WEST H Murphy Mr H Hardy
also JENKINSTOWN F Morgan Mr S Howard
also YORK II W Rollason Mr G Walmesley
also PADDY MAHER Mr O'B Butler Colonel Kirkwood
also DATHIA T Anthony Mr J W Philipps
also PROPHET III J Dillon Mr Foxhall Keene
also JOHNSTOWN LAD E Driscoll Mr J M Kerne
also WEE BUSBIE D Phelan Mr J E Rogerson
also ALERT III J Harland Mr T G Paget
also WILD FOX III Captain W A Pallin Captain W A Pallin
6/1 Kirkland    
8/1 Tom West    
8/1 Springbok    
10/1 Johnstown Lad    
100/8 Paddy Maher    
100/7 Roman Law    
100/7 Mount Prospect's Future    
100/7 Seisdon Prince    
100/7 Extravagence    
100/7 Lawyer III    
25/1 Mattie Macgregor    
25/1 Lara    
33/1 Flaxman    
66/1 Rubio    
100/1 Wild Fox III    
100/1 Alert III    
100/1 Wee Busbie    
100/1 Prophet III    
100/1 Dathia    
100/1 York II    
100/1 Jenkinstown    
100/1 Nanoya    
100/1 Chorus    
100/1 Red Hall    
  Over Round 110% Note that unquoted horses have been allocated 100/1
I am very grateful to John Pinfold for the picture shown below. I can recommend Gallant Sport and An Aintree Dynasty, both written by John Pinfold. To purchase a copy of either book go to the Amazon Grand National store shown below.

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to