Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales city of Goulburn lies some 120 miles south-west of the state capital Sydney, and less than 55 miles north-east of Canberra, in the Southern Tablelands region of the state. The area was inhabited by the Aboriginal Mulwaree people prior to European settlers arriving in the region. Today the city boasts a population in excess of 23,000 and runs its own highly successful racecourse. There is evidence that racing first took place in the area in 1832, although the first Goulburn Cup was not held until 1882. That inaugural meeting was held on Goulburn Plains on Monday 1st January 1832 attended by a numerous crowd who witnessed Mr J O’Laughlin’s horse beat 5 others. Within a decade the races became firmly established and a three day meeting was held from Monday 12th to Wednesday 14th October 1840 which featured the Goulburn Purse, the Ladies’ Purse and an unusual Hurdle race.

Local Patrons Goulburn Turf Club
Principal Races Goulburn Cup

Monday 12th October 1840
Goulburn Purse (£50) over 2 miles

1. Prince owned by Mr Waddy and ridden by W Wilson
2. Commissary owned by Mr W Hardy and ridden by M McGrath
3. Tom owned by Mr Byrne and ridden by J Patrick
Goulburn Ladies’ Purse (£50) over 1 mile
1. Hairtrigger owned by Mr Welch and ridden by Tom Jones
2. The Artful owned by Mr Christie and ridden by M McGrath
3. Mermaid owned by Mr J Hardy and ridden by J Keigran
Tuesday 13th October 1840
Goulburn Hurdle (£30) over 3 miles and 9 leaps of 3 feet 6 ins
This race was held on the old Goulburn course

1. Commissary owned by Mr W Hardy and ridden by R Wadly
2. Frederic owned by Mr G P Bernard and ridden by J King
3. Black Diamond owned by Mr Ximmenis

The inaugural 2 day meeting of the Goulburn Turf Club took place on Wednesday 13th and Thursday 14th December 1882 under its Patron His Excellency Lord Augustus Loftus, ably supported by President William Davis. The feature race was the first running of the Goulburn Cup over 1 ½ miles presented by Walter Douglas.
Wednesday 13th December 1882
Goulburn Cup over 1 ½ miles

1. Willeroo (5/2 fav) owned by Mr W Kelso and ridden by Hales
2. Coolabah (8/1) owned by Mr O Poplin and ridden by Nicholson
3. Veto (12/1) owned by Mr W Royd and ridden by Thomas
8 ran

The second annual 2-day meeting organised by the Goulburn Turf Club was staged on Wednesday 26th and Friday 28th September 1883 attended by 1200 people, and featured the Goulburn Cup which was presented by Mr J W Chisholm of Wollogorang.
Wednesday 26th September 1883
Goulburn Cup over 2 miles

1. Hope (7/1) owned by Mr O Poplin and ridden by Vetter
2. Friendship (7/1) owned by Mr J McKenzie and ridden by Saunders
3. Twelve Years (5/1) owned by Mr Bradbury and ridden by Colley

In 1949 a racecourse was opened on the Braidwood Road on 12th October 1949 when the Stewards were Mr P J Barclay and Mr J Williams. The day finished with the South Tablelands Cup over 9 furlongs which went to Johnny Zero (6/4 fav) ridden by T Hill, beating Tithonus (9/2) and Protect (3/1). The modern day Race Club, the Goulburn & District Racing Club Ltd was formed in 1969 and stages the Goulburn City Cup over 1600 metres, traditionally on the fourth Sunday in November.

Recent Goulburn City Cup winners
(A full list of winners from 1882 is available on request)

2014 Goulburn City Cup ($60,160) over 1600 metres was won by Pythagorean (3/1) trained by Chris Waller and ridden by Kerrin McEvoy, beating Faust and Court Connection 8 ran
2015 Goulburn City Cup ($60,160) over 1600 metres was won by Just A Blur (7/1) trained by Barbara Joseph and Paul Jones and ridden by Mathew Cahill, beating Moral Victory and Landlocked 16 ran
2016 Goulburn City Cup ($54,000) over 1600 metres was won by Circular (7/1) trained by John O’Shea and ridden by Johan Victoire, beating Sweet Redemption and O’Reilly’s Revenge 15 ran
2017 Goulburn City Cup ($84,000) over 1600 metres was won by Dark Eyes (4/1) trained by Gail Waterhouse and Adrian Bott and ridden by Blake Shinn, beating God’s In Him and Valentino Rossa 14 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com