Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Grants Pass is the county seat of Josephine County in Oregon which has a population of about 83,000. The county gets its name from Josephine Creek, which itself was named after Virginia Josephine Rollins Ort, the daughter of a prospective Gold Digger, Floyd Rollins, who came to Southern Oregon in 1851 in search of gold. An historic day in the regions history is 22nd January 1856 when Josephine County was separated from Jackson County. The County has held a Fair for some considerable time, but in 1913 Grange Fair moved to Murphy Grange Hall and within 3 years was relabelled as Josephine County Fair in 1916. Horse racing became an established part of the Fair in 1921, while between the World Wars the site of the Fair moved to Ball Park, now known as Riverside Park. Racing continued to be an integral part of the Fair until 1975, after which the Southern Oregon Horse Racing Association began a programme of thoroughbred horse racing which made better use of the Fairs Grandstands for longer in the year. Today the Grants Park Racetrack, on the Josephine County Fairgrounds, makes use of a 4 furlong oval track, separate 366 metre chute, with both using a 137 metre home straight. The principal race is the Firecracker Futurity when a field normally of 24 is whittled down to a final of 8 runners. Some previous winners since the turn of the Millennium are shown below:-

Local Patrons Southern Oregon Horse Racing Association
Principal Races Firecracker Futurity

Grants Pass Firecracker Futurity winners since 2001
2001 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Isle Fly Easy
2002 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Phils Dash Ta Fame
2003 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Fly Margarita
2004 The Firecracker Futurity was won by One Fast Trick
2005 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Royal Suspect
2006 The Firecracker Futurity was won by EZ Speedy Leader
2007 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Catlow Guilch
2008 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Cathy Jos Quick Cash
2009 The Firecracker Futurity was won by TF Ms Special Perry
2010 The Firecracker Futurity was won by EZ Garner
2011 The Firecracker Futurity was won by Bradens Bustlinbooty

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to