Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The Hipodromo Miguel Salem Dibo, with the capacity to hold up to 29,000 people, is the only racecourse remaining in Ecuador and is located at Samborondon, 6 miles north of the river port of Guayaquil, a heavily populated part of the country. The track is a left handed oval dirt track of 7 furlongs, with racing traditionally tacking place on Sundays throughout the year. The racecourse first opened its gates in 1980 when known as Hipodromo El Buijo, but switched to its current name in 1984. Its principal race is the Clasico Derby Nacional Binjamin Rosales.

Local Patrons Ecuador Jockey Club
Principal Races Clasico Derby Nacional Binjamin Rosales

At various times throughout its history Ecuador has held Triple Crown races. Before 1980 the Triple Crown consisted of the Clasico Nelson Uraga Suarez, the Clasico Enrique Guzman Aspiazu and the Clasico Inginiero De Icaza Aspiazu, all of which were held at the old Hipodromo Santa Cecilia.

After 1980 2 different Triple Crowns were introduced:-
The Ecuador Triple Crown consists of the Clasico Estreno Dr Raul Lebed Sigall, the Clasico Polla Nacional Sr. Agustin Febres Cordero and the Clasico Derby Nacional Sr. Benjamin Rosales, all of which are held at Hipodromo El Buijo. In 1967 the Triple Crown was won by Alcatraz, owned by Inginiero Miguel Salem Dibo, trained by Alcides Guerrero and ridden by Estuardo Torero. The same owner, trainer and jockey combination won the Triple Crown again 4 years later with Farsante in 1971.
The Ecuador Fillies Triple Crown consists of the Clasico Ing. Carlos San Andres, the Clasico Sr. Eduardo Jairala and the Clasico Abogado Carlos Julio Arosemena Peet, all of which are held at Hipodromo El Buijo.

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to