Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 26th July 1814
Final meeting: Wednesday 15th June 1887
Hampton races began in 1814 and were situated at Molesey Hurst, then in Middlesex. The inaugural two day meeting took place on Tuesday 26th and Wednesday 27th July 1814, opening with the Clarence Cup which was won by Mr Ball’s Emily. Later in the meeting the Hampton Subscription Purse was won by Hedley, owned by Mr Mapleston. The racecourse was a flat, oval course with a circumference of 12 furlongs, and there was a sprint course of 4 furlongs joining the main course, which was used for longer races on the Surrey, Middlesex and Queens Plate courses. At the second three day meeting from Tuesday 20th to Thursday 22nd June 1815 the Molesey Stakes went to Wellesley, the Ladies Cup to Striver, the Clarence Gold Cup to Tooley, and the Twickenham Stakes to Mr Pengree’s Pheasant. Races were held regularly twice a year, with the mid-Summer meeting being dubbed the Cockney Derby. In the Sporting Magazine of 1846 their view of Hampton Races was, “Nobody ever dreams of going to Moulsey Hurst with a view to good racing”. After Hampton racecourse closed on Wednesday 15th June 1887 it was replaced by the more permanent course at Hurst Park which opened on 19th March 1890.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 2 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Mr Cockburn, Mr Holbrook
Principal Races Clarence Gold Cup, Cocked Hat Stakes, Coburg Stakes, Molesey Stakes, Twickenham Stakes

Tuesday 26th July 1814
The Clarence Cup over 2 ¼ miles
1. Emily, bay filly owned by Mr Ball
2. Trial, bay gelding owned by Mr White
3. Fanny, bay mare owned by Mr Barrondale

Tuesday 20th to Thursday 22nd June 1815

The Molesey Stakes over 2 miles
1. Wellesley owned by Mr Boult

The Hampton Ladies Cup over 2 ½ miles
1. Striver owned by Mr Hart

The Clarence Gold Cup over 2 ½ miles
1. Tooley owned by Mr Bacon

The Twickenham Stakes over 1 ½ miles
1. Pheasant owned by Mr Pengree

Wednesday 14th to Friday 16th July 1824

Hampton Clarence Stakes over 2 miles
1. Agnes owned by Mr Cockburn
2. Peggy owned by Mr Holbrook
3. Unnamed colt by Sir Walter Raleigh owned by Mr Scaith

Cocked Hat Stakes in which gentlemen wearing cocked hats received 6 lbs
1. Phillip owned by Mr G Berkeley
2. Mortimer owned by Mr Jones
3. Puncher owned by Mr H Moreton

Hampton Coburg Stakes over 2 miles
1. Fortune Teller owned by Mr Whyte
2. Agnes owned by Mr Cockburn
3. Evergreen owned by Mr Cockburn

Course today A 12 furlong course at Molesey Hurst.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

With grateful thanks to Stephen McCurrie for this scan.

Hampton racecourse, in Surrey, not to be confused with the Oxfordshire course which held only one meeting, held races from 1814 until 1887. Whilst the rare racecard shown above records the meeting held in 1846, the final meeting took place on 15th June 1887.

The front cover/ principal races from this rare racecard are provided courtesy of the Robert Shaw collection.

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com