Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Tuesday 27th October 1835
Final meeting: Tuesday 27th October 1835
The Staffordshire town of Hedgeford (as recorded in the 1835 Racing Calendar) or sometimes spelt as Hedgfud or Hedgford, first held a race meeting in 1835. It was held at Anglesey Lodge, which was the hunting lodge built by racing fanatic Edward Peel in 1831 in what is now the town of Hednesford. That first meeting was staged on Tuesday 27th October 1835 when the opening Hedgeford Stakes over a mile was won by Edward Peel’s Fury. In future editions of the Racing Calendar meetings are shown to be held in Hednesford.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Edward Peel, Captain Pettat
Principal Races Hedgeford Stakes, Cannock Stakes, Flare-Up Stakes

Tuesday 27th October 1835

The Hedgeford Stakes over a mile
1. Fury owned by Edward Peel
2. Unnamed filly by Pollio owned by Mr Clift
3. Daft Jenny owned by Mr Massey
4. Little John owned by Mr Giffard
5. Jemima owned by Captain Pettat

The Flare-Up Stakes over 4 furlongs
1. Grog owned by Mr Birch
2. Daft Jenny owned by Mr Massey
3. Preservative owned by Mr Haywood

The Cannock Stakes over 2 miles
1. Unnamed colt by Peter Lely owned by Mr Hind
2. Walfruna owned by Mr Fielding
3. Jemima owned by Captain Pettat
4. St Peter owned by Mr Thurlow
5. Bardolph owned by Edward Peel
6. Tritonia owned by Mr Massey
7. Little John owned by Mr Giffard
After the race there was an appeal on the basis that the winner had raced the wrong side of the post, and the appeal was upheld and the race awarded to Walfruna.

The final meeting took place on Tuesday 27th October 1835
Course today In the grounds of Anglesey Lodge.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com