Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Holbrook enjoys good transport links as it is on the Hume Highway in the Greater Hume Shire area of the state. It is some 240 miles north-east of Melbourne and just over 300 miles south-west of state capital Sydney. The area was originally inhabited by the Wiradjuri people until the explorers Hume and Hovell travelled to the area in 1824. Today the small town has a population of almost 1800 people who benefit from their own racecourse where racing is administered by the Holbrook Turf Club.  However, racing was certainly taking place in the town at the start of the 20th century, although during the First World War an AGM was held on Saturday 4th December 1915 to discuss future meetings, while in March 1916 the Holbrook Amateur Picnic Race Club agreed that the time was not appropriate to hold a picnic race meeting and abandoned the event until further notice. Racing did eventually return, although meetings lapsed during the Second World War. The Holbrook Picnic Race Club did hold a meeting on Friday 10th May 1940 in aid of the Holbrook Patriotic and War Fund. The principal race, the President’s Cup, was won by Radiant Gold (8/1), beating Skilton Wood (6/1) and Easterndale (10/1).

Local Patrons Holbrook Picnic Race Club, Holbrook Amateur Picnic Race Club
Principal Races Holbrook Cup, President's Cup

The first meeting to be held in the town since 1940 took place under the direction of Holbrook Amateur Picnic Race Club on Friday 2nd May 1947, to be followed just 3 weeks later by a meeting organised by Holbrook Racing Club. Details of key races at each of the 2 meetings are shown below.
Friday 2nd May 1947
President’s Cup over 1 mile

1. Abbyman (5/2) owned by Mr J E Kendall and ridden by Mr F Burt)
2. Kinglike (5/1) owned by Mr A Bowler and ridden by Mr W Gaffney
3. Sidmouth (5/4 fav) owned by Mr D H Carnegie and ridden by Mr D Martin
Wednesday 21st May 1947
Holbrook Cup over 1 mile

1. Captivator (7/4 fav) owned by Mr J McDonald and ridden by W Trimble
2. Vinegar (4/1) owned by Mr T W Kerr and ridden by Mr Gray
3. Marong (8/1) owned by Mrs P Bazeley and ridden by A Buckley

The next year the Holbrook Cup over 7 furlongs was won by Chatty Lass ridden by P Martell, beating Althops ridden by W Trimble.

Traditionally the annual meeting takes place on the second Saturday in April and features the Holbrook Cup over 1400 metres.
Recent Holbrook Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2009 Holbrook Cup ($6,300) over 1400 metres was won by Trevbar (9/2) trained by Trevor Sutherland and ridden by Bryan Murphy, beating Larrikin Joe and Loughlan Lad 7 ran
2010 Holbrook Cup ($6,300) over 1400 metres was won by Larrikin Joe (11/4) trained by M A Hulme and ridden by Joel Maconachie, beating Lacryma Star and Bronze Aussie 9 ran
2011 Holbrook Cup ($6,300) over 1400 metres was won by Microchip Lad (5/1) trained by Phil Sweeney and ridden by A Stead, beating Kimorra and Gandalf The White 10 ran
2012 Holbrook Cup ($6,300) over 1400 metres was won by Hillbilly Dancer (5/1) trained by Sylvia Thompson and ridden by John Kissick, beating L’Aubaine and Three Buddies 11 ran
2013 Holbrook Cup ($6,460) over 1400 metres was won by Malebo Magic (12/1) trained by Jim Scott and ridden by Richard Bensley, beating Soward and Thetoppie 12 ran
2014 Holbrook Cup was abandoned
2015 Holbrook Cup ($6,460) over 1400 metres was won by He’s An Angel (9/4) trained by Brian Cox and ridden by Jason Collins, beating Mineral Deposit and Prints 7 ran
2016 Holbrook Cup ($6,460) over 1400 metres was won by Imperious (4/1) trained by Chris Heywood and ridden by Nick Heywood, beating Never Pegasus and Bringenbrong 12 ran
2017 Holbrook Cup ($6,540) over 1400 metres was won by Razzle Dazzle Rock (9/1) trained by Malcolm Jarvis and ridden by Bradley Vale, beating With Authority and Kinselmac Manner 8 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com