Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Kangaroo Island lies in the state of South Australia some 8 miles from the mainland when measured from Snapper Point. It is the third largest of Australia’s many islands, being surpassed only by Tasmania and Melville Island. Although it was inhabited by Aborigines for many decades, the island was named by the British explorer Matthew Flinders on 23rd March 1802, although it was reached by Richard Siddins in 1812 when he saw the potential of harvesting salt on his ship the Campbell Macquarie. In the late years of the 19th century races were held on the Cygnet Rover course, where the Menzies Kangaroo Island Trophy was won by Solo in 1883. The island still has its own racecourse at Kingscote where racing is administered by the Kangaroo Island Racing Club. Each February they host a highly successful Carnival, providing two excellent days of racing which is so popular that it is broadcast around the country. The principal race is the Kangaroo Island Cup, although there are a number of valuable handicaps spread across the two days.

Local Patrons Kangaroo Island Racing Club
Principal Races Kangaroo Island Cup

Thursday 5th April 1883
Menzies Kangaroo Island Cup over 1 ½ miles presented by Mr E Simmonds

1. Solo owned by Mr Chapman
2. Lilly owned by Mr J Thompson
3. Dolphin owned by Mr Boxer
Thursday 13th March 1884
Kangaroo Island Cup over 1 ½ miles

1. Solo owned by Mr Chapman
2. Eva owned by Mr Calnan

Some of the early 20th century winners of the Cup are shown below.
The 1902 Kangaroo Island Cup was won by Bell Bird owned by Mr R Howie, defeating Union and Success who were both owned by Mr W Toseland
The 1904 Kangaroo Island Cup was won by Patsy owned by Mr J bates, beating Domino owned by Mr G Barnes
The 1907 Kangaroo Island Cup took place on Sunday 7th April 1907 when Lady Marsden, owned by Mr R W Chapman, beat Souris owned by Messrs A R Campbell and G G Ayliffe.
The 1909 Kangaroo Island Cup (50 sovereigns) over 1 ¼ miles was won by Pretender owned by Mr W Sheppard and ridden by Kain, beating sole rival Mount Lofty owned by Mr R E Howie and ridden by Campbell

The photo above shows Zilla, owned by Mr J H Snelling, winner of the 1911 Kangaroo Island Cup provided courtesy of the Adelaide Chronicle Saturday 9th April 1911

More recent Kangaroo Island Cup Winners
2009 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($14,000) over 1865 metres was won by Bravely (5/1) trained by Paula Trenwith and ridden by Lauren Stojakovic, beating Most Handsome and A Grade 10 ran
2010 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($14,500) over 1865 metres was won by Lotto Blues (16/1) trained by Kym Healy and ridden by Krystal Bishop, beating Emmooki Street and Bravely 10 ran
2011 The Kangaroo Cup meeting was abandoned
2012 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($20,000) over 1880 metres was won by Dujac (11/2) trained by Dennis O’Leary ridden by Dom Tourneur, beating Lotto Blues and Just A Giggle 8 ran
2013 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($20,000) over 1880 metres was won by St Ives (2/1 fav) trained by Paula Trenwith and ridden by Clare Lindop, beating Leckey and Dujac 10 ran
2014 The Kangaroo Cup was cancelled
2015 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($20,000) over 1880 metres was won by Nomis (8/1) trained by Gordon Carter and ridden by Zac Spain, beating Brimming and Ocsmepop 8 ran
2016 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($25,000) over 1880 metres was won by Novikov (8/1) trained by Nicole Bruggemann and ridden by Kate Brooks, beating Gallatin and Proud Eagle 7 ran
2017 The Kangaroo Island Cup ($25,000) over 1880 metres was won by Jestwin (13/8 fav) trained by Nicole Bruggemann and ridden by Justin Polter, beating One For Max and Final Table 8 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to thrive today.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to