Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Situated in the Laurel district of the state of Maryland, Laurel Park held its first meeting on 2nd October 1911. The track was then sold just 3 years later to Philip Dwyer and James Butler, and remained in their hands for 36 years. In 1947 it was sold on to the Maryland Jockey Club and renamed 'Laurel Race Course'

Local Patrons Laurel Park Race Club, Philip Dwyer, James Butler
Principal Races Washington DC International
Laurell Park racecard.JPG (17819 bytes)

Its principal race was the Washington D C International, over 1 and a half miles, it was first run in 1952 when won by Wilwyn. It also hosts the Group One Frank J DeFrancis Memorial Dash Stakes named in memory of its 1984 owner. It was in 1994, while owned by Joe DeFrancis, that the course reverted to Laurel Park along with many new facilities being added, including a new grandstand.

The Washington D C International was won by Bald Eagle in 1959 and 1960, the only horse to win it twice. It was contested for the final time in 1994 when Paradise Creek, ridden by Pat Day, was successful.

The Group One Memorial Dash over 6 furlongs was introduced in 1990 when Northern Wolf was successful. Lite the Fuse gained back to back victories in 1995 and again in 1996. The latest winner was Benny the Bull in 2007 as the 2008 event was not held.

Maryland 1955.JPG (19253 bytes)
Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to