Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Wednesday 28th February 1877
Final meeting: Saturday 22nd April 1882
The Welsh village of Lawrenny, in Pembrokeshire, sits on a peninsula of the Cleddau estuary. The village has a rich history with its church of St Caradoc a Grade II listed building. In the mid to late 1800s the village also hosted successful race meetings, the first of which took place on Wednesday 28th February 1877. That meeting was held on Lawrenny Ground when the feature event, the Lort Phillips Cup sponsored by Mr Lort Phillips, was won by The Buck who beat Cucumber and Lort Phillips’ own Pugilist. It proved to be an amazing race because eleven set out, but several fell each time round at the tricky brook, although sufficient remounted to produce a result. For each of the next five seasons a race meeting was held annually in March or April, with the final meeting staged on Saturday 22nd April 1882. At the races on Tuesday 29th March 1881 the Farmers and Tradesmen’s Chase was won by Mr W James’s Lady Mary, while the Red Coat Challenge Cup was dominated by Lort Phillips’s horses when Pugilist won and Patience was second. The principal Yeomanry Cup saw the appropriately named Yeoman win for Mr A T Cadwallader. The village maintained its links with horse racing when in 1905 the racing stables in the village provided the winner of the Aintree Grand National. That horse, Kirkland, was ridden by F.Mason to defeat Napper Tandy at 6/1.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 3 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons

Mr Lort Phillips, Lawrenny Yeomanry

Principal Races Lort Phillips Challenge Cup, Lawrenny Yeomanry Cup

Tuesday 29th March 1881
Lawrenny Yeomanry Cup
1. Yeoman, aged horse owned by Mr A T Cadwallader
2. Lady, aged mare owned by Mr R O Lewis
3. Harry, aged horse owned by Mr D George

The final meeting took place on Saturday 22nd April 1882.
Course today On Lawrenny Ground.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to