Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The Montana State city of Billings, with a population in excess of 170,000, is the main city in the Billings Metropolitan Area and county seat of Yellowstone County. It became a railroad town in March 1882 and was named after Frederick Billings, the president of the Northern Pacific Railroad Company. After the end of the Second World War Billings opened a racetrack on the Montana State Fairground called Billings Raceway, hosting its first meeting on 13th August 1946. It was a 4 furlong oval racetrack which had as its principal race the Yellowstone Derby, won in 2010 by Chicks Brief case. Its other main race was the Yellowstone Futurity, with the last few winners listed below. It catered for thoroughbred and quarter horse racing at various points in its history, and became known as Metrapark at a later point. Finally it took on the name Yellowstone Downs racecourse. Although racing lapsed for a time up to 1997, it returned afterwards and continued to stage racing until the final meeting was held on 18th September 2011.

Principal Races Yellowstone Derby, Yellowstone Futurity

Yellowstone Futurity winners since 2007
2007 The Yellowstone Futurity was won by Miss Edie Okey
2008 The Yellowstone Futurity was won by Flash N Passion
2009 The Yellowstone Futurity was won by Utah Pistol
2010 The Yellowstone Futurity was won by Kittys Gold Medal
2011 The Yellowstone Futurity was won by BC Badger

Course today The racecourse closed on 18th September 2011
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to