Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The provincial racecourse of Mount Nancy was to be found in the town of Alice Springs in the state of Northern Territory. It was situated along the Stuart Highway and was the first home of the Alice Springs Race Club.

Local Patrons McDonnell Range Turf Club, Stuart Turf Club
Principal Races McDonnell Range Cup, Stuart Handicap

In 1928 a new course was opened called the Mount Nancy Racecourse, although at this point the McDonnell Range and Stuart Turf Club were still in charge, although later the Alice Springs Race Club took over the administration for a few years.  Results from the second day of the December 1928 meeting are shown below.
Thursday 27th December 1928
McDonnell Range Cup over 1 ½ miles

1. Boyhead owned by Mr L Bloomfield
2. Tanami owned by Mr Windle
3. Santoy owned by Mr Windle
Stuart Handicap over 5 furlongs
1. Encounter King owned by Mr L Bloomfield
2. Night Glass owned by Mr Hanlon
3. Percy owned by Mr N Jones

In the early 1930s the Central Australian Racing Club assumed control and were at the helm between 1935 and 1985, before the name changed back to the Alice Springs Turf Club. The Central Australian Racing Club organised a meeting in December 1935 which was highly successful, showed a profit of £70 over the 2 days, with large attendances each day. A party of 40 people travelled 320 miles from Tennant Creek to attend the meeting.
Central Australian Cup £50 over 1 ½ miles
1. Keepsake owned by Mrs L Bloomfield and ridden by P Ryan
2. Salt Air owned by Mrs E Hayes and ridden by E Hayes
3. Winacre owned by Mr R Allen and ridden by J Reynolds
5 ran
Stuart Handicap over 5 furlongs
1. Mobah owned by Mrs L Bloomfield and ridden by B Bloomfield
2. Waitomo owned by Mr R Harris and ridden by P Ryan
3. Winacre owned by Mr R Allen and ridden by J Reynolds
3 ran

In 1977 the old Mount Nancy Racecourse closed, hosting its final meeting on Saturday 18th June 1977, and exactly a week later a new course was opened at Pioneer Park on Saturday 25th June 1977 when the principal race was the Pioneer Park Cup. The racecourse is suitably named Pioneer Park to mark the achievements of all early pioneers of racing in Alice Springs. Today the racecourse is thriving, hosting a large number of race days, predominantly on a Saturday or Sunday, but the principal race is the Alice Springs Gold Cup which is staged on the first Monday in May.

The final meeting took place on Saturday 18th June 1977
Course today Although Mount Nancy has closed, the Alice Spring Races continue to thrive at Pioneer Park.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to