Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Narrabri, on the Namoi River, is located in the North West Slopes region of the state some 325 miles north-west of the state capital Sydney. The area was inhabited by the Gamilaroi people prior to European settlers arriving in the mid 1800’s. The town enjoys good transport links being situated at the junction of the Kamilaroi and Newell Highways, and has its own racecourse to serve a population of almost 6,000 inhabitants. The earliest record of racing in the town was a two-day meeting in October 1861 when the highlight of the card was the Town Plate, with details shown below.

Local Patrons Narrabri Jockey Club
Principal Races Narrabri Cup, Narrabri Town Plate

Wednesday 23rd October 1861
Narrabri Sweepstake

1. Zoe
2. Plenipotentiary
3. Ulah owned by W Cousins
3 ran
Ladies Purse
1. Tam O’Shanter owned by Mr Ramsey
2. Blue-Tail Fly owned by Mr A Benson
3. Spring-heel Jack
Thursday 24th October 1861
Narrabri Town Plate

1. Tam O’Shanter owned by Mr Ramsey
2. Blue-tail Fly owned by Mr A Benson
3. Ulah owned by Mr W Cousins
Stockman’s Purse
1. Ningerdo owned by Mr W Cousins
2. Strop owned by Mr T Huxley
Disq. Dora owned by Mr W Thurlow

The inaugural meeting organised by the newly formed Narrabri Jockey Club took place on Thursday 1st November 1894 when the Borough Handicap was won by Welcome, beating Syracuse and Idalia, while the Namoi Handicap went to Navette at the expense of Student and Krui. The concluding race, the Stewards’ Purse was won by Idalia, beating Bokhara and Syracuse.

Today the racing continues to be administered by the Narrabri Jockey Club, hosting the annual Picnic Races on a Saturday in late March when the highlight is the Narrabri Cup over 1200 metres.
Recent winners of the Narrabri Cup
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2009 Narrabri Cup ($5,600) over 1500 metres was won by Crowntreno (2/1 fav) trained by Martin Fernando and ridden by Jessica Drury, beating Glenbarra Boy and Satin Express
2010 Narrabri Cup ($5,600) over 1500 metres was won by Eye on the Crown (Evens fav) trained by Sue Grills and ridden by Geoff Snowden, beating Crowntreno and Novesta
2011 Narrabri Cup ($5,600) over 1500 metres was won by Imposing Way (9/1) trained by Thomas Popp and ridden by Samantha Clenton, beating Mountain Brew and Segovian 9 ran
2012 Narrabri Cup ($5,600) over 1200 metres was won by Duplify (6/1) trained by Paul Grills and ridden by Geoff Snowden, beating Cheque for Freedom and The Tapdancer 8 ran
2013 Narrabri Cup ($7,100) over 1200 metres was won by Banagher Boy (7/2) trained by Joseph Craig and ridden by Ms S Bigg, beating Sir Hawkins and Darcy’s Delight 9 ran
2014 Narrabri Cup ($7,200) over 1200 metres was won by White Stocking (3/1) trained by Jane Clement and ridden by Glenn Lynch, beating Rocky Dancer and Coventry 9 ran
2015 Narrabri Cup meeting was abandoned
2016 Narrabri Cup ($7,100) over 1200 metres was won by Anchorfel (7/2) trained by Todd Payne and ridden by Gemma Steele, beating Manyana Miss and Subarc 8 ran
2017 Narrabri Cup ($7,180) over 1200 metres was won by About Time (3/1) trained by Gavin Groth and ridden by Ken Dunbar, beating Double Eagle and All in All 9 ran
2018 Narrabri Cup ($7.085) over 1200 metres was won by Attalea (Evens fav) trained by Brett Thompson and ridden by Jake Pacey-Holmes, beating Deceitful Don and About Times 5 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to