Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The river town of Narrandera lies at the junction of the Newell and Sturt Highways in the Riverina region of New South Wales.  It is adjacent to the Murrumbidgee River and was inhabited by the Wiradjuri Nation prior to the explorer Charles Throsby discovering the region in April 1821. Later the better known explorer Captain Charles Sturt passed through on 12th December 1829. Today the town has a population of 3,800 inhabitants and benefits from its own racecourse where racing is administered by the Narrandera Race Club. Racing was certainly being staged in the town in the mid-1860s, with meetings taking place in both March and October 1865. Indeed, the Narrandera Cup was won by Gormley at the October 1865 meeting.

Local Patrons Narrandera Race Club, Narrandera Turf Club
Principal Races Narrandera Cup, Narrandera Turf Club Handicap

Friday 17th March 1865
Narrandera Plate (20 sovereigns)

1. Tory-Girl
2. Whalebone
3. Hunter
Tuesday 10th October 1865
Narrandera Cup

1. Gormley owned by Mr H W Flood
2. Kelpie owned by Mr Jenkins

Regularly advertising of meetings held in the town began to be published with the founding of the Narrandera Race Club in 1879, although results did not start to become widely published until 1882. At that early meeting in September 1882 the principal race was the Town Plate which saw Tait beat First Light and Evidence. Other race results from that meeting were:-
Maiden Plate:-Friendship beat Englishman and Howlong
Member’s Cup:-Englishman beat Redfern and Skater
Turf Club Handicap:-First Light beat Tait and Evidence

Racing continued leading up to the First World War, during the First World War and immediately after the War had ended. The main race of the year during this period was the Narrandera Handicap over 1 mile, with results before and after the War shown below.
Thursday 8th May 1913
Narrandera Handicap over 1 mile

1. Muretta (2/1) ridden by Hyland
2. Island Queen (4/1) ridden by Abbott
Thursday 10th July 1919
Narrandera Handicap over 1 mile

1. Earl Goodwin (4/6 fav) owned by Mr D Kelly and ridden by Hornery
2. Martron (3/1) owned by Mr F McAllister and ridden by Scott
3. My Troy (10/1) owned by Mr W Barr and ridden by Geehan
5 ran

Today the Club hosts 3 meeting annually, the highlight of the racing season being the Narrandera Cup over 1400 metres in August.
Recent Narrandera Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2008 Narrandera Cup ($5,600) over 1400 metres was won by Firetime (2/1 fav) trained by Liz Aalbers and ridden by Ronnie Bell, beating Old Songs and Waterfront Lass 8 ran
2009 Narrandera Cup ($5,600) over 1400 metres was won by Stratofortress (5/1) trained by Trevor Sutherland and ridden by Andrew Bloomfield, beating Dusty’s Shadow and Donilly Lad 10 ran
2010 Narrandera Cup ($5,600) over 1400 metres was won by Regal Celeb (6/1) trained by John Marzol and ridden by William Pearson, beating Tell The Story and Thrillionaire 7 ran
2011 Narrandera Cup ($5,600) over 1400 metres was won by Mrs Menzies (5/1) trained by Trevor Sutherland and ridden by Bryan Murphy, beating Making Gold and Soward 10 ran
2012 Narrandera Cup ($5,820) over 1400 metres was won by Sonro (7/2) trained by Gino D’Altorio and ridden by Joel Maconachie, beating Reboot and Marwishuponastar 8 ran
2013 Narrandera Cup ($5,535) over 1400 metres was won by Sonro (13/2) trained by Gino D’Altorio and ridden by Joel Maconachie, beating Produced and Mrs Menzies 12 ran
2014 Narrandera Cup ($5,535) over 1400 metres was won by Zarreig (100/30) trained by Peter Clancy and ridden by Brendan Ward, beating Casual Zariz and For Mia 9 ran
2015 Narrandera Cup ($5,535) over 1400 metres was won by Smakatus (7/2) trained by Graham Hulm and ridden by Mitchell Aitken, beating Casual Zariz and Grand Allowance 11 ran
2016 Narrandera Cup ($5,535) over 1400 metres was won by Magnaro (4/5 fav) trained by Daniel McCarthy and ridden by John Kissick, beating Little Red Devil and Heysen 6 ran
2017 Narrandera Cup ($7,180) over 1400 metres was won by Ruary Mac (3/1) trained by Christopher Davis and ridden by Rebeka Prest, beating Inner Strength and Benno’s Boy 5 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to