Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes, joint fifth oldest race at the Glorious Goodwood meeting along with the Chesterfield Cup, was named by the 5th Duke of Richmond, Charles Gordon-Lennox, in honour of his close ties and support of the House of Orange-Nassau, the reigning House of the Netherlands, and is a Group 1 race for fillies and mares aged 3 and above over 1 mile 1 furlong and 192 yards. When first contested, it was restricted to 3-year-old fillies over a mile, but in 1900 it was extended to 1 mile 4 furlongs, although it was reduced to its current distance in 1911. Race conditions were changed in 1975 when fillies and mares aged 4 and above were allowed entry and, at one stage, it was a Group 2 race, but was promoted to Group 1 level in 1999. It traditionally takes place on the third day of the 5-day meeting.
Early history:-The inaugural running of the Nassau Stakes was on Friday 31st July 1840 when Lord George Bentinck's 3-year-old filly Rosa Bianca defeated a Priam Filly and Sillistria.

Nassau Stakes 1937 Group 3 1 Mile 2 furlongs
Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1 FIRST FLIGHT Harry Wragg Ossie Bell 3-9st 1lbs Lord Londonderry 11/2
2 KIND KITTY Cliff Richards Fred Butters Miss P Bainbridge 10/1
3 HYDRA Doug Smith Boyd-Rochfort Sir H de Trafford 20/1
4 EXHIBITIONIST S Donoghue Lawson Sir Victor Sassoon 1/2 fav
5 LADY OF MILAN R A Jones M Marsh Mrs Washington Singer 20/1
6 CARTIMAPDUA Eph Smith Walter Earl Commander T A Benskin 20/1
7 SPRAY P Beasley Boyd-Rochfort Major Harold Cayzer 6/1
This race took place on Friday 30th July 1937 and was a subscription race of 50 sovereigns each for 3-y-o fillies carrying 8st 10lbs. It was valued at £300 (equivalent to £45,000 in 2021). Over round 120%