Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

Earliest meeting: Sunday 27th September 1733
Final meeting: Thursday 1st September 1763
Racing was first recorded in the Hertfordshire hamlet of Odsey in 1733. The hamlet, situated south of Steeple Morden and West of Royston, was once known as the Odesy Hundred. As such it contained a number of parishes, notably Ashwell, Wallington and Royston. Baily’s Racing Register first provided detailed results from that inaugural meeting in September 1733 when the 50 Guineas Purse was claimed by Lord Weymouth with his horse Whittington. In 1751 the meeting was extended to two days on Monday 2nd and Tuesday 3rd September. On day one the 60 Guineas Purse went to Charles Churchill’s Cumberland, while the next day the £50 Purse was won by Sir Edward Hale with Drudge. Meetings continued to be frequent and successful until a final card on Thursday 1st September 1763 when Mr Prockter’s grey mare got the better of entries from Mr Boyer and Mr Dimsdale in the Sweepstake.

This racecourse is covered in Volume 1 of Racecourses Here Today and Gone Tomorrow. Ordering details shown below.
Local Patrons Lord Weymouth, Sir H Molyneux, Sir Charles Sedley, Sir Edward Hale
Principal Races

Odsey 60 Guineas Purse, Odsey £50 Purse

Sunday 27th September 1733

Odsey 50 Guineas Purse
1. Whittington owned by Lord Weymouth
2. Foxhunter owned by Sir H Molyneux
3. Leadenheels owned by Mr Panton

Monday 2nd - Tuesday 3rd September 1751

Monday 2nd September 1751 Odsey 60 Guineas Purse
1. Cumberland owned by Charles Churchill
2. Saucebox owned by Jacob Houblon
3. Dung Cart owned by William Harvey
4. Romeo owned by Honourable Josiah Child

Tuesday 3rd September 1751 Odsey Fifty Pounds Purse
1. Drudge owned by Sir Edward Hale
2. Arthur of Bradley owned by Mr Bradley
3. Bay by Crab owned by Mr Panton
4. Collier owned by Mr Cheshire

Tuesday 26th - Thursday 28th September 1752

Tuesday 26th September 1752 Hunters Purse of Fifty Pounds
1. True Blue owned by Sir Charles Sedley
2. Cumberland owned by Mr Churchill
3. Dung Cart owned by Mr Harvey

Wednesday 27th September 1752 Fifty Pounds Purse
1. True Blue owned by Mr Robinson
2. Charmer owned by Sir Charles Sedley
3. Midas owned by Mr Meridith

Thursday 28th September 1752 Odsey Fifty Guineas Stakes
1. Favourite owned by Mr Cranmer
2. Creeping Kate owned by Mr Calvert
3. Prime owned by Mr Lockwood

Monday 2nd September 1754

Monday 2nd September 1754 Odsey Fifty Guineas Purse
1. Champion owned by Mr Harvey
2. Cream Pot owned by Mr Churchill
3. Fortunatus owned by Mr Robinson

Thursday 1st September 1763

Thursday 1st September 1763 Odsey Sweepstakes
1. Grey mare owned by Mr Prockter
2. Brown horse owned by Mr Boyer
3. Bay mare owned by Mr Dimsdale

The final meeting took place on Thursday 1st September 1763.
Course today In fields on the outskirts of Odsey between the hamlet and Royston.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email johnwslusar@gmail.com

Much of the information about this course has been found using internet research and is in the public domain. However, useful research sources have been:-

London Illustrated News

Racing Illustrated 1895-1899

The Sporting & Dramatic Illustrated

Northern Turf History Volumes 1-4 by J.Fairfax-Blakeborough

The Sporting Magazine

A Long Time Gone by Chris Pitt first published in 1996 ISBN 0 900599 89 8

Racing Calendars which were first published in 1727

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing johnwslusar@gmail.com stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to johnwslusar@gmail.com