Aintree racecourse;Ascot;Ayr;Bangor;Bath;Beverley;Brighton;Carlisle;Cartmel;Catterick;Cheltenham Festival;Chepstow;Chester;Doncaster St Leger;Epsom Derby;Exeter racecourse;Fakenham;Folkestone;Fontwell Park;Glorious Goodwood;Hamilton Park;Haydock Park;Hereford Racecourse;Hexham;Huntingdon;Kelso;Kempton Park;Leicester;Lingfield;Ludlow;Market Rasen;Musselburgh;Newbury Racecourse;Newcastle;Newmarket;Newton Abbot;Nottingham;Perth;Plumpton;Pontefract Racecourse;Redcar;Ripon;Salisbury;Sandown Park;Sedgefield;Southwell;Stratford;Taunton;Thirsk;Towcester;Uttoxeter;Warwick;Wetherby;Wincanton;Windsor;Wolverhampton;Worcester;Yarmouth;York Ebor

The New South Wales town of Parkes lies in the Parkes Shire region of the State and has been through a number of changes of name in its 160 year history. In the early 1850s it was known as Currajong by the local settlers, reflecting the large number of Kurrajong trees in the region, but then changed its name to Bushman when mining began to be carried out. However, it was in August 1873 that Sir Henry Parkes visited the region, continuing his project to unify the numerous regions and states of the country. Today the town has a population of about 11,300 inhabitants and enjoys its own racecourse where racing is administered by the Parkes Jockey Club. The highlight of the racing calendar is the Parkes Cup, now run over 1600 metres in May but previously run on a Sunday in late January, although another very popular event is the Picnic Race meeting held in June. The Cup was first contested in 1887, although meetings had been staged in the town at least a decade before this.

Local Patrons Parkes Jockey Club
Principal Races Parkes Cup, Currajong Handicap

The earliest record of racing in the town was a two-day meeting on Thursday 5th and Friday 6th April 1877 when 500 people were present on the first day, while over 300 attended the second day. Principal race winners were:-
Maiden Plate:-Idella beat Moss Rose and Weed
Town Plate:- Gratis owned by Mr Strickland
Currajong Handicap:-Molong owned by Mr McPhee
At the end of the two days of racing settling up took place in the evening at the Tattersall’s Hotel.

The first Parkes Cup meeting was held on Tuesday 5th and Wednesday 6th April 1887 when the feature races were the Town Plate, the President’s Cup, the Prince of Wales Stakes and the Parkes Jockey Club Handicap.
Tuesday 5th April 1887
Parkes Town Plate

1. Clytie owned by Mr Rawsthorne
2. Pearl owned by Mr Duncan
Wednesday 6th April 1887
President’s Cup

1. Hereford 7st 9lb
2. Coral 8st owned by Mr Haselhurst
3. Leo 8st 9lb owned by Mr Smith
Prince of Wales Stakes
1. Misfortune owned by Mr Toohey
2. Mariner
3. Dante
Parkes Jockey Club Handicap
1. Clytie owned by Mr Rawsthorne
2. Blanch
3. Syd

In the early part of the 20th century the pattern of races had not changed from those held in the early days. In 1905 the Parkes Jockey Club President was Mr S E Close, ably supported by Vice-Presidents Mr H H Balcombe and Mr H B Pulver. The principal race on the first day was the Town Plate, while on the second day it was the Jockey Club Handicap.
Easter Monday April 1905
Parkes Town Plate (30 sovereigns) over 1 mile

1. Keen (Evens fav) owned by Mr L N Smith and ridden by Quill
2. Confederate (10/1) owned by Mr R Yeomans and ridden by W Jones
3. Dunure (6/1) owned by Mr W Acton and ridden by Stanford
Easter Tuesday April 1905
Parkes Jockey Club Handicap (30 sovereigns) over 1 ¼ miles

1. Keen (Evens fav) owned by Mr L N Smith and ridden by Quill
2. Confederate (4/1) owned by Mr R Yeomans and ridden by McHugh
3. Lemire (5/1) owned by Mr E Clifford and ridden by Clancy

Recent Parkes Cup winners
(A full list of winners is available on request)

2009 Parkes Cup ($11,050) over 1600 metres was won by Brisk Crown (4/1) trained by B Rosen and ridden by James Geppert, beating Better Jetsetter and A Magic Pick 9 ran
2010 Parkes Cup ($9,750) over 1600 metres was won by Miss Alberta (6/4 fav) trained by Peter Nestor and ridden by Brad Clark, beating Regal Celeb and Mosseltov 5 ran
2011 Parkes Cup ($11,050) over 1600 metres was won by Cashout (40/1) trained by Michael Mulholland and ridden by Sarah Trebley, beating Clever Hans and Gunnadoit 9 ran
2012 Parkes Cup ($11,050) over 1600 metres was won by True Jeune (7/1) trained by Peter Stanley and ridden by Matthew Cahill, beating Vigneron and Dreamwinner 8 ran
2013 Parkes Cup ($12,580) over 1600 metres was won by Prince Warrior (5/2) trained by Matthew Dale and ridden by Brendan Ward, beating Lebrechaun and Natch Catch 10 ran
2014 Parkes Cup ($12,580) over 1600 metres was won by Sonro (5/1) trained by Gino D’Altorio and ridden by Michael Heagney, beating Are You Sure and Private Taber 10 ran
2015 Parkes Cup ($14,410) over 1600 metres was won by Heysen (12/1) trained by Wayne Carroll and ridden by John Kissick, beating King Derota and Royal Jackpot 9 ran
2016 Parkes Cup ($14,410) over 1600 metres was won by Itchyzariz (5/4 fav) trained by Matthew Dale and ridden by Kayla Nisbet, beating Yes Zariz and Heysen 8 ran
2017 Parkes Cup ($16,800) over 1600 metres was won by Leucura (5/2) trained by Chris Heywood and ridden by Greg Ryan, beating Our Sarastro and Layo Layo 10 ran

Course today The racecourse continues to operate very successfully.
If you have photos, postcards, racecards. badges, newspaper cuttings or book references about the old course, or can provide a photo of how the ground on which the old racecourse stood looks today, then email

ISBN 978-0-9957632-0-3

652 pages

774 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-1-0

352 pages

400 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-2-7

180 pages

140 former courses

ISBN 978-0-9957632-3-4

264 pages

235 former courses

Copies of the above books are only available by emailing stating your requirements, method of payment (cheque payable to W.Slusar) or Bank transfer, and the address where the book(s) should be sent.
Download an order form
  Quantity Cost
Volume 1 North of Hatfield £19.99 + £4 postage    
Volume 2 South of Hatfield £14.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 3 Wales & Scotland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volume 4 Ireland £9.99 + £3 postage    
Volumes 1 - 4 £54.96 + £5 postage    
Postage & Packaging    
Email order form to