SP Kilmister.JPG (22032 bytes) POOLE PIRATES

This site is not an official website for the track shown here and is neither approved or endorsed by the speedway team.

SP Byers.JPG (21937 bytes)
Speedway first took place at Poole Stadium, on Wimborne Road, in 1948. That initial meeting was on the shale track in front of a crowd in excess of 6000 on 26th April 1948. Whilst this maiden match proved to be successful for poole in beating Yarmouth by 74 points to 32, it finished in sadness when the Yarmouth rider Reg Craven was injured and died from the injuries he sustained.

The club quickly rose up the League structure and became very successful. They had reached the Premier League by 1995 and just two years later they were in the Elite League, and have remained there ever since.

View an early programme

SP Dallison.JPG (24606 bytes) SP D Case.JPG (24416 bytes)
Pol1948.JPG (13259 bytes) The team won the Knockout Cup in 1990, 2003 and 2004 and won the League on 11 occasions between 1951 and 2004. Pol1950.JPG (14402 bytes)
SP Key.JPG (26705 bytes) Greyhound racing first took place in Poole in May 1961 when the track was purchased by a father and son called Charles and Chris Knott, the latter was a famous England Cricketer. SP Milne.JPG (23608 bytes)
POL1963.JPG (16713 bytes) At various times in its history the team has been known as the Pirates and the Wildcats. POL1968.JPG (16332 bytes)
SP Chitty.JPG (21859 bytes) This section gives a comprehensive picture of the badges produced for the team throughout the ages, but only provides the briefest of glimpses of its history. For those wishing to undertake further research we can recommend a visit to


and for those wishing to read more widely we recommend a visit to

http://astore.amazon.co.uk/wwwgreyhoundd-21   especially

Poole Pirates Speedway (Hardcover)

by John Beasley  ISBN-10: 0953960897

SP Pymar.JPG (26265 bytes)
POL1973.JPG (24481 bytes) To view a complete collection of badges choose the relevant link below:

1948 - 79    1980 - 93

1994 - 99

POL1975.JPG (36887 bytes)

The Poole Pirates currently (2019) contest the SGB Premiership. Recent successes include the Premier League Champions in 2018, Elite League Champions in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015, and Elite League Shield winners in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

More detailed information is available from "Homes of British Speedway' by Robert Bamford & John Jarvis

For all Speedway enthusiasts, John Somerville's website should always be your first port of call:-https://www.skidmarks1928.com/v/photos/john-somerville-collection
or email johnwslusar@gmail.com for inclusion of your comments and photos of speedway on this website.