Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1840 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 FLAMBEAU Jem Robinson William Edwards 4-8st 12lbs Duke of Rutland 4/7 fav
2 BARABBAS Nat Flatman 4-8st 12lbs Mr Byng 9/2
3 CAMELINO S Day 4-8st 12lbs Mr Dixon 20/1
4 PRESTONJEE BOINANJEE Conolly 5-9st 4lbs Colonel Wyndham 4/1
5 EMILIUS Colt W Day 3-7st 4lbs Duke of Cleveland 20/1
6 RUBY Sly 6-9st 4lbs Mr V King 20/1
The inaugural running of the Trail Plate, the forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 16th June 1840 and the winner, Flambeau, a bay horse by Taurus out of an Orville mare, won a first prize of 450 sovereigns (equivalent to £46,000 in 2020), beating Barabbas and Camelino by 2 lengths and 6 lengths. Over round 116%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840