Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1841 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 FLAMBEAU Jem Robinson 5-9st 4lbs Duke of Rutland 2/5 fav
2 KNIGHT OF THE WHISTLE Nat Flatman 3-7st 6lbs Lord Chesterfield 4/1
3 LANGOLEE Pettit 3-7st 6lbs Mr Robert Pettit 20/1
4 WINDSOR S Mann 3-7st 6lbs Mr S Scott 20/1
5 MULEY MOLOCH Wakefield 3-7st 6lbs Lord Kelburne 20/1
6 EMILIUS filly Jem Chapple 3-7st 3lbs Sir G Heathcote 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 8th June 1841 and the winner, a bay horse by Taurus out of an Orville mare, won a first prize of 185 sovereigns from 7 subscribers (equivalent to £19,000 in 2020). Over round 110%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841