Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1842 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 SATIRIST Jem Robinson John Scott 4-8st 13lbs Lord Westminster 5/4 fav
2 MEAL Bell 3-7st 1lbs Sir J Gerrard 6/4
3 ROVER Crouch 3-7st 4lbs Mr Goodman 20/1
4 RAPTURE Nat Flatman 3-7st 1lbs Mr John Payne 20/1
5 LASSO Bartholomew 3-7st 4lbs Mr Charlton 20/1
6 ALEXANDRINA sister Baker 3-7st 1lbs Mr George Osbaldeston 20/1
7 GLENURY Wakefield 3-7st 4lbs Mr Theobald 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 7th June 1842 and the winner, a brown colt by Pantaloon out of Sarcasm, won a first prize of 185 sovereigns from 7 subscribers (equivalent to £21,000 in 2020). Over round 109%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842