Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1854 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 CROSSLANES Garvey 3-7st 4lbs Captain Lane 10/1
2 FILBERT Nat Flatman 4-8st 7lbs Lord Exeter 6/1
3 SNOWDON DUNHILL G Oates 4-8st 7lb Mr Ewbank 8/1
4 WELHAM S Steggles 3-7st 4lbs Lord Lonsdale 3/1
5 JOE MILLER H Goater 5-9st 0lb Mr J Parker 25/1
6 ORINOCO Job Marson 4-8st 7lbs Mr J M Stanley 4/1
7 KATINKA Cliff 3-7st 4lb Mr G Munro 25/1
8 PAXTON Harding 3-7st 4lb Mr Greville 25/1
9 MORGAN LA FAYE Sanwell 2-4st 4lbs Lord John Scott 25/1
10 DONUM Strudwick 2-4st 4lbs Mr Drinkald 25/1
11 IAGO colt Hibberd 2-4st 4lbs Mr Spencer 25/1
12 ELIZA Crosswick 2-4st 4lbs Mr J Barnard 5/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 13th June 1854 and the winner, a bay filly by Slane out of Diversion, won a first prize of 600 sovereigns from 12 subscribers (equivalent to £67,000 in 2020). Over round 119%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854