Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1855 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 CORONER George Fordham 2-4st 13lbs Mr T Parr 2/1 fav
2 EARLY MORN Faulkner 2-4st 7lbs Mr Merry 3/1
3 ICARUS J Mann 3-7st 4lb Lord Orford 3/1
4 LOOEY Rayner 2-4st 4lbs Mr Combe 25/1
5 KING CHAT Bullock 2-4st 7lb Lord Wilton 4/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 5th June 1855 and the winner, a bay colt by Loup-Guron out of a Velocipede mare, won a first prize of 300 sovereigns from 6 subscribers (equivalent to £33,000 in 2020). Over round 108%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855