Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1859 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 SEDBURY W Boyce 4-8st 10lbs Mr T Parr 5/2 fav
2 ARDOUR Keeler 3-7st 9lbs Mr Stevens 10/1
3 FADLADEEN Bray 4-8st 10lb Lord Clifden 20/1
4 FRIGHT T Sherwood 5-9st 2lbs Mr Simpson 20/1
5 PIPO Reeves 2-4st 12lb Mr A Douglas 20/1
6 LITTLE POLL J Grimshaw 2-4st 12lbs Mr Saxon 20/1
7 SOUTHAMPTON Nat Flatman 3-7st 7lbs Mr W Barratt 20/1
8 ODD FELLOW L Snowden 3-7st 7lbs Mr G Bryan 20/1
9 ROSABEL Cresswell 3-7st 7lbs Mr F Higgins 20/1
10 NIMROD Roe 3-7st 7lbs Mr Parker 10/1
11 NEWCASTLE George Fordham 3-8st 2lbs Mr J Rigby 6/1
12 ANNANDALE filly J Daley 2-4st 12lbs Mr G Fleming 20/1
13 HUSSAR Parsons 2-4st 12lbs Mr F Robinson 6/1
14 CLOVERNOOK T French 2-4st 12lbs Sir W Booth 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 14th June 1859 and the winner, a bay horse by The Cure out of Themiss, won a first prize of 130 sovereigns from 16 subscribers (equivalent to £16,500 in 2020). Over round 119%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855 1856 1857 1858 1859