Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1861 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 BUCCANEER Jem Goater 4-9st 2lbs Lord Portsmouth 5/2 fav
2 SATELLITE George Fordham 5-9st 8lbs Mr R Ten Broeck 7/1
3 WEDDING Watkins 5-9st 5lb Baron Niviere 20/1
4 HANDSOME JACK J Mann 3-8st 0lbs Mr J C Smith 20/1
5 PARASITE Bullock 3-8st 0lb Mr Hare 20/1
6 NAIAD Deacon 2-5st 4lbs Mr John Day 20/1
7 RATAPLAN colt W Cooper 2-5st 7lbs Mr G Fleming 20/1
8 THE PRINCIPAL William Wheatley 2-5st 7lbs Mr C Formby 20/1
9 GENERAL HESS S Rogers 4-9st 2lbs Lord Uxbridge 5/1
10 COCK ROBIN Murray 2-5st 7lbs Mr J W Richardson 20/1
11 LIBERALITY Whiteley 2-5st 7lbs Mr Mundy 6/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 11th June 1861 and the winner, a bay colt by Wild Dayrell out of a Little Red Rover mare, won a first prize of 170 sovereigns from 14 subscribers (equivalent to £20,000 in 2020). Over round 105%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855 1856 1857 1858 1859
1860 1861