Royal Ascot: Queen Anne Stakes

The Queen Anne Stakes, originally open to horses aged three and older, was established in 1840, and during the early part of its history it was called the Trial Stakes. In 1930, it was renamed in honour of Queen Anne, the founder of Ascot Racecourse. The Queen Anne Stakes was classed as a Group 3 race in 1971, and it was promoted to Group 2 level in 1984. It was given Group 1 status in 2003, and at this point the minimum age of participating horses was raised to four. It is now the first race on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting.
Early history:- Queen Victoria was in attendance on Tuesday 16th June 1840 when the opening race, the Trial Stakes, was won by the Duke of Rutland's 4-year-old Flambeau (4/7 fav) ridden by Jem Robinson, beating Barabbas, Camelino and 3 others. Prestonjee Boinanjee (4/1) made the early running until half a mile from home, at which point Flambeau took over and went on to win unextended by an easy 2 lengths, making it back to back wins in 1841.

Trial Plate 1863 Group 1 New Mile
Pos. Horse Jockey Age/weight Owner
1 TIPPLER F Adams 3-8st 7lbs Duke of St Albans 5/1
2 REDCAP Mordan 2-5st 12lbs Marquess of Hastings 7/1
3 TORNADO George Fordham 3-8st 3lb Mr R Ten Broeck 7/2 fav
4 AURELIAN Jem Goater 5-10st 0lbs Mr Wake 6/1
5 COUPON Clement 2-5st 9lb Mr J Smith 20/1
6 FLIRTATION H Grimshaw 5-10st 0lbs Captain Coates 20/1
7 IMPOSITION Lightfoot 2-5st 9lbs Mr J Saxon 20/1
8 ATTRACTION Deacon 2-6st 0lbs Mr G Fleming 20/1
9 BATHILDE S Rogers 5-9st 11lbs Lord Chesterfield 6/1
10 MUEZZIN S Adams 3-8st 7lbs Mr W Day 20/1
The Trail Plate, forerunner of the Queen Anne Stakes, over the New Mile, took place on Tuesday 2nd June 1863 and the winner, a bay colt by Tumbler out of Chloris, won a first prize of 110 sovereigns from 12 subscribers (equivalent to £14,000 in 2020). Over round 105%
Queen Anne Stakes Group 1 1 mile 1840
1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849
1850 1851 1852 1853 1854 1855 1856 1857 1858 1859
1860 1861 1862 1863